Skip to Main Content

IU Indianapolis ScholarWorks

A guide for IUPUI ScholarWorks users

How to submit

How to Submit

Related information:

Before your first submission

Before submitting material to for the first time, there are two, one-time only steps required:

  1. Create an account by logging in with your IU credentials.
  2. Get approved to submit by contacting a ScholarWorks administrator and indicating the name of the Collection or Collections to which you want to submit.

Presubmission checklist

  1. If you are new to ScholarWorks we suggest you review our help pages for submitters.
  2. Identify the collection to which you wish to submit. Request permission to submit to an existing collection. If the one you want does not appear in the menu, contact the ScholarWorks administrators. Request a new collection, if necessary, by completing the online form.
  3. Review the ScholarWorks License, and consider whether you want to apply a Creative Commons license to your work.
  4. Have your metadata and files ready.

Submission process

At any point during the process, you may cancel the submission, or save what you have entered and return to it later.

  1. Login to your ScholarWorks account with “IU Login” using your IU credentials.

  2. Click the dropdown arrow next to the user profile icon in the upper right corner of the screen and click “My ScholarWorks”.

  3. Click the + button in the red box to upload a new item to a collection.

  4. The pop up window will contain a list of collections to which you are authorized to submit. Select the collection you wish to submit you item to.

  5. Upload your file. PDF format is preferred.

  6. Fill in the fields. The more complete your description, the more likely that others will find your work quickly. For advice on describing your content, see Metadata tips.

  7. Verify your file upload and add additional files if necessary.

  8. Verify your submission. Please review the content description and file. Click "+ Deposit" to complete the submission.

After you submit

You should receive an e-mail message explaining how to access and refer to your submission. If your submission requires approval, then you will get your confirmation e-mail message after the submission is approved.

ScholarWorks refreshes its index and generates thumbnail images for new submissions each night.

Additional Information