Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Digital and Special Collections Librarian
https://orcid.org/0000-0003-0054-7260About this page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Medical Humanities Scholarly Concentration courses, project, and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this page, please contact Brandon Pieczko at bpieczko@iu.edu.
Articles
These databases index and provide access to articles and other publications related to medical humanities.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
- EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a biomedical research and literature database with over 32 million records for biomedical and pharmacological articles and conference proceedings from 1947 to the present. It covers over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, including over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1987-present) This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly articles in the arts and humanities.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text and citations to articles in the humanities, including book reviews.
- ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowThis unique collection showcases the development of "popular"medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Materials include rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly resources across the web, with Find It @ IU Indianapolis links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.
Journals
These journals publish articles on medical humanities topics. They are not only a good resource for literature searches but are also potential publication outlets for your own research.
- Ars MedicaStarted in 2004, Ars Medica is a biannual, open access, Canadian literary journal that explores the interface between the arts and healing, and examines what makes medicine an art.
- Bellevue Literary ReviewThe Bellevue Literary Review was created as a forum for creatively exploring a broad array of issues in medicine and society, using fiction, nonfiction, and poetry to better understand the nuanced tensions that define our lives both in illness and in health
- The Healing MuseThe Healing Muse is the annual journal of literary and visual art published by SUNY Upstate Medical University's Center for Bioethics & Humanities. We welcome fiction, poetry, narratives, memoirs and visual art, particularly but not exclusively focusing on themes of medicine, illness, disability and healing.
- Hektoen InternationalA journal of medical humanities published in Chicago by the Hektoen Institute of Medicine, a nonprofit health service, educational, and research organization that administers grant awards on behalf of community organizations, independent investigators, and institutions working to improve care and resources for patients.
- Intima: A Journal of Narrative MedicineLiterary journal dedicated to promoting the theory and practice of narrative medicine, an interdisciplinary field that enhances healthcare through the effective communication, empathy and understanding between clinicians, caregivers and patients.
- Journal of Applied Arts & HealthThis international peer-reviewed journal intends to serve a wide global community of artists, researchers, practitioners, healthcare professionals, educators, therapists and policymakers profiling the effectiveness of art as the mode of inquiry and evidence within the interdisciplinary areas of arts in health and arts for health.
- The Journal of Medicine and PhilosophyFor four decades, The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy has been the flagship scholarly journal in bioethics and the philosophy of medicine. Its contributors and focus are international, addressing bioethical concerns across the world. Significant attention has been given to bioethics and foundational issues in health care policy in North and South America, Europe, and Asia. The journal’s concerns range from clinical bioethics to studies in the philosophy of medicine such as explorations of the nature of concepts of health and disease, as well as the character of medical explanation.
- Literature and MedicineFounded in 1982, Literature and Medicine is a peer-reviewed journal publishing scholarship that explores representational and cultural practices concerning health care and the body. Areas of interest include disease, illness, health, and disability; violence, trauma, and power relations; and the cultures of biomedical science and technology and of the clinic, as these are represented and interpreted in verbal, visual, and material texts.
- Medical HumanitiesMedical Humanities presents the international conversation around medicine and its engagement with the humanities and arts, social sciences, health policy, medical education, patient experience and the public at large. Medical Humanities is an official journal of the Institute of Medical Ethics.
- Medicine, Health Care and PhilosophyMedicine, Health Care and Philosophy: A European Journal is the official journal of the European Society for Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care. It provides a forum for international exchange of research data, theories, reports and opinions in bioethics and philosophy of medicine. The journal promotes interdisciplinary studies, and stimulates philosophical analysis centered on a common object of reflection: health care, the human effort to deal with disease, illness, death as well as health, well-being and life.
- Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in MedicinePhilosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that encompasses all aspects of the philosophy of medicine and biology, and the ethical aspects of clinical practice and research. It also considers papers at the intersection of medicine and humanities, including the history of medicine, that are relevant to contemporary philosophy of medicine and bioethics. The journal is the official publication of the Pellegrino Center for Clinical Bioethics at Georgetown University Medical Center.
- Philosophy, Ethics, and Humanities in MedicinePEHM welcomes innovative research at the intersection of medical ethics and bioethics, philosophy of medicine, and medical humanities from a variety of perspectives and contexts.
- Research and Humanities in Medical EducationRHiME is an open access, peer-reviewed, online journal devoted to the Humanities in Medical Education. It encompasses all aspects of teaching and learning medicine.
- Theoretical Medicine and BioethicsTheoretical Medicine and Bioethics examines clinical judgment and reasoning, medical concepts such as health and disease, the philosophical basis of medical science, and the philosophical ethics of health care and biomedical research. Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics is an official partner journal of the American Society for Bioethics + Humanities.
Books
The Edinburgh Companion to the Critical Medical Humanities by ISBN: 9781474400046Publication Date: 2016Introduces the ways in which interdisciplinary thinking across the humanities and social sciences might contribute to, critique, and develop medical understanding of the human individually and collectively. Covers the intersections between medicine, as broadly defined, and critical thinking.
Health Humanities Reader by ISBN: 9780813562476Publication Date: 2014A survey of the body of work that has already emerged from the field of health humanities. This essay collection reflects the diversity of the field, including disability studies, history, literature, nursing, religion, narrative medicine, philosophy, bioethics, medicine, and the social sciences.
Keywords for Health Humanities by ISBN: 9781479808090Publication Date: 2023-08-29Introduces key concepts and debates in health humanities and the health professions. Sixty-five entries by leading international scholars examine current practices, ideas, histories, and debates around health and illness.
Medical Humanities and Medical Education by ISBN: 9781138778689Publication Date: 2015This text describes the contemporary territory comprising the medical humanities in medical education, and explains how this field may be developed as a key medical education component for the future.
Research Methods in the Health Humanities by ISBN: 9780190918514Publication Date: 2019LIMITED TO 3 CONCURRENT USERS. TO MAXIMIZE USE, PLEASE DOWNLOAD THE PDF OF THE CHAPTER NEEDED AND READ IT OFFLINE. Surveys the diverse and unique research methods used by scholars in the growing, transdisciplinary field of health humanities.
Other Online Resources
- Graphic MedicineGraphic Medicine was founded in 2007 by Ian Williams, a physician and cartoonist from North Wales who currently resides in Hove, England. It examines the role comics can play in the study and delivery of healthcare.
- Pulse: Voices from the Heart of MedicineLaunched in 2008, Pulse was created by members of the Department of Family and Social Medicine at Montefiore Medical Center and Albert Einstein College of Medicine in collaboration with colleagues and friends around the country. Pulse tells the story of health care through the personal experiences of those who live it–patients, health professionals, students and caregivers. While medical care is often rightly criticized for being cold and oblivious, Pulse highlights the humanity and vulnerability of all its actors. In doing so it promotes the humanistic practice of medicine and encourages advocacy for compassionate health care for all.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Writing Templates
- Generic Article templateA template for writing a typical scientific article. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Quality Improvement Article TemplateA writing template for a quality improvement article using SQUIRE guidelines. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Scientific Article template (tabular format)A template in tabular format for writing scientific clinical articles. Posted with permission from Dr. William M. Tierney.
- Writing Papers for Peer-Reviewed Journals (class recording)The Scientific Article template is from Dr. William Tierney's class for Translational Science students. View the recording here.
Partnering Organizations and Other Resources
Licensing of this guide
This work is by Brandon Pieczko and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.