Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Cecelia Vetter at: cevetter@iu.edu.
Articles
Search strategies for medical education topics vary widely dependent upon the database being used. For suggestions of medical education-related subject words, see the "Subject Word Suggestions" below.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
- PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndex of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
Subject Word Suggestions
|
PubMed/Ovid MEDLINE |
ERIC |
CINAHL |
|
General |
General |
General |
|
Education subheading (in MeSH Database) |
Medical Education |
Education subheading (in CINAHL Headings) |
|
Learning |
Medical Schools |
Medical Education |
|
Medical Education |
Hospitals |
Education, Health Sciences |
|
Teaching |
Clinical Teaching (Health Professions) |
Learning |
|
Curriculum |
Learning |
Curriculum |
|
|
Instruction |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Educational Methods |
Educational Methods |
Educational Methods |
|
Competency-Based Education |
Educational Methods |
Models, Educational |
|
Distance Education |
Educational Practices |
Competency-Based Education |
|
Patient Simulation |
Teaching Methods |
Learning Methods |
|
Problem-Based Learning |
|
Teaching Methods |
|
|
|
|
|
Assessment |
Assessment |
Assessment |
|
Educational Measurement |
Educational Assessment |
Evaluation |
|
Needs Assessment |
Medical Care Evaluation |
Evaluation Research |
|
Self-Evaluation Programs |
Curriculum Evaluation |
|
|
Evaluation Studies |
Student Evaluation |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Student Groups |
Student Groups |
Student Groups |
|
Education, Medical, Continuing |
Graduate Medical Education |
Students, Medical |
|
Education, Medical, Graduate |
Graduate Medical Students |
Education, Medical, Continuing |
|
Education, Medical, Undergraduate |
Clinical Experience |
Physicians |
|
Clinical Clerkship |
Medical Students |
|
|
Internship and Residency |
Physicians |
|
Journals
- Academic Emergency MedicineSociety for Academic Emergency Medicine
- Academic MedicineJournal of the Association of American Medical Colleges
- Continuing Education in Anaesthesia, Critical Care & PainBritish Journal of Anaesthesia, The Royal College of Anaesthetists, The Intensive Care Society and Pain Society
- Journal of Continuing Education in the Health ProfessionsThe Alliance for Continuing Medical Education, the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education, and the Council on CME, Association for Hospital Medical Education
- Medical EducationAssociation for the Study of Medical Education
Books
Achieving Excellence in Medical Education (1st ed) by ISBN: 9781846288135Publication Date: 2006Theoretical insights and practical suggestions for medical education, including resources for promoting excellence in medical education, promises and pitfalls of new educational technologies, and medical education's role in preparing future leaders.
Achieving Excellence in Medical Education (2nd ed) by Call Number: W18 G975a 2011ISBN: 9780857293060Publication Date: 2011CAN BE CHECKED OUT FOR 90 DAYS.
Theoretical insights and practical suggestions for medical education, including resources for promoting excellence in medical education, promises and pitfalls of new educational technologies, and medical education's role in preparing future leaders.
Best Practices in Medical Teaching by ISBN: 9780521151764Publication Date: 2011Illustrates the general principles of effective medical presentation by providing examples of how to design a successful lecture, and teaching how to influence audience behaviors. Each chapter ends with a chapter summary, progress check, and performance self-assessment test.
Problem-Based Learning in Clinical Education (Print) by Call Number: LB 1027.42 .P76 2012ISBN: 9789400725140Publication Date: 2012This collection of recent scholarship on problem-based learning (PBL) examines the ways in which PBL is both conceived and implemented in clinical education. Explores how problem-based curricula support the achievement of students' learning outcomes in the context of clinical education.
Understanding Medical Education by ISBN: 9781118472408Publication Date: 2014Provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases of modern medical education practice. Designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education and anyone involved in the development of healthcare professionals.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
