LibGuides: Scholarly Concentrations: Urban Medicine &amp; Health Care Disparities

About This Page

This page contains curated resources intended to be useful for your Scholarly Concentration project and product.

For statistics & Indiana Health fact sheets, refer to the Health Statistics guide.

Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up-to-date list of required readings and materials for other courses.

MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
National Vital Statistics System This link opens in a new window
Federal web site providing access to statistical information related to vital events: births, deaths, marriages, divorces and related public health materials.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.

America's Health Rankings
For nearly three decades, America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.

Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice
The Journal of Health Disparities Research and Practice is a refereed online journal that explores the dimensions of health disparities globally.
more...less...
OA journal
International Journal for Equity in Health
International Journal for Equity in Health focuses on disseminating influential research which examines the political, policy-related, economic, social, and health systems- and services-related influences.
more...less...
OA journal
Journal of Urban Health
The Journal of Urban Health provides rigorous analyses to advance the health and well-being of people in cities.

Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical Students
The Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
Scholarly Publishing Guide
This guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
IUSM Research Compliance Research Guide
This guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
Scholarly Impact Research Guide
This guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
Research Data Services
This guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
ORCID
Provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.

AMA Health Disparities Toolkit
The American Medical Association (AMA) encourages physicians to examine their own practices to ensure equality in medical care.
Learn about the AMA's mission to achieve health equity by mitigating disparity factors in the patient population.
MedlinePlus Healthcare Disparities
Basic information about health disparities in the US, plus links to key data & statistics produced within the last 10 years.

IUPUI Center for Urban Health
Several groups at IUPUI have begun collaborative efforts to explore connections between environment, behavior, health, and climate as related to urban environments.