Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Associate Director for Public Services
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0859-2683About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Genetics in Medicine Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Amy Blevins at aeblevin@iu.edu.
Articles
For clinical and biomedical research topics, PubMed is a good place to start. There are also specialized Internet resources that often reference the published literature, please see the Organizations and Other Resources section.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- MEDLINE PubMed Clinical QueriesResults of searches on this page are limited to specific clinical research areas, results are returned in three columns: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics. For comprehensive searches, use PubMed directly.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Journals
Selected List of Genetics Journals, to see all of the journals the library subscribes to, please use the A-Z eJournal list, Browzine or IUCat, the online catalog for the IU Libraries. Need an article from a journal that the library does not subscribe to, or has an embargo? Contact Medical Library's Content Management and Delivery team.
Books
The Medical Library has access to thousands of eBooks. The quickest way to check to see if an eBook is available is to visit one of the links below and do a title search or use IUCat.
- Search for eBooks Using IUCATFor access - look for ebooks that are with the IU Indianapolis University Library, and Ruth Lilly Medical Library.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine (9th ed) by ISBN: 9780323547628Publication Date: 2024By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help with understanding a wide range of genetic disorders.
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics. Foundations (7th ed) by ISBN: 9780128125373Publication Date: 2018Summarizes basic theories, concepts, research areas, and the history of medical genetics, providing a contextual framework for integrating genetics into medical practice. Clinically oriented information is supported by full-color images and expanded sections on the foundations of genetic analytics, next generation sequencing, and therapeutics.
Genomic and Precision Medicine Foundations, Translations, and Implementation by ISBN: 9780128006818Publication Date: 2017Genomic information is impacting clinical decision-making and leading to more personalization of health care. The book pinpoints the challenges, barriers, and solutions that have been brought forward to enable translation of genome based technologies into health care.
Genomic and Precision Medicine Primary Care by ISBN: 9780128006856Publication Date: 2017Presents a comprehensive volume for primary care providers. Provides succinct commentary and key learning points that will assist providers with their local needs for the implementation of genomic and personalized medicine.
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics. Clinical principles & applications (7th ed) by ISBN: 9780128125366Publication Date: 2018Addresses general methods and approaches to genetic counseling, genetic diagnostics, treatment pathways, and drug discovery. Explore the clinical implementation of genomic technologies, analytics, and therapeutics, with special attention paid to developing technologies, common challenges, patient care, and ethical and legal aspects.
Ethical Dilemmas in Genetics and Genetic Counseling by ISBN: 9780199944897Publication Date: 2015Timely ethical issues arising in the genetics clinic and laboratory, including prenatal and pre-implantation genetic diagnosis, assisted reproductive technologies, incidental findings in genetic testing, gene patenting, testing children for adult onset disorders, and direct to consumer testing.
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation (8th ed) by ISBN: 9780323638821Publication Date: 2022Guidance to accurately diagnose multiple malformation syndromes of environmental and genetic etiology, as well as recognizable disorders of unknown cause. Helps establish prognoses, and provide appropriate management and genetic counseling.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
These are some of the most commonly used Internet resources.
Genetic Testing Resources
- Genetic Testing RegistryAccess genetic tests, link to information on diseases and phenotypes, genes, laboratories, GeneReviews.
Genome Browsers and Tools for Exploring Genetic Variants
- Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO)The Human Phenotype Ontology (HPO) provides a standardized vocabulary of phenotypic abnormalities encountered in human disease. Each term in the HPO describes a phenotypic abnormality.
- ClinGenNational Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded resource building a central resource that defines the clinical relevance of genes and variants for use in precision medicine and research.
- Database of Chromosomal Imbalance and Phenotype in Humans Using Ensembl ResourcesDECIPHER is an interactive web-based database which incorporates a suite of tools designed to aid the interpretation of genomic variants.
- dbSNPServes as a central repository for both single-base nucleotide substitutions and short deletions/insertion polymorphisms and variants.
- Human Gene Mutation DatabaseHGMD® represents an attempt to collate all known (published) gene lesions responsible for human inherited disease and is maintained in Cardiff University. Free registration with academic e-mail is required to access the public version, a more frequently updated commercial version (not subscribed to by the Library) is also available.
- National Newborn Screening & Global Resource CenterInformation and resources on newborn screening and genetics for health professionals, public health, and consumers.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)Encyclopeida of human genes and their associated phenotypes.
- UCSC Genome BioinformaticsIncludes a Genome Browser which has toools to explore SNP databases. Includes links to training and tutorials.
Professional Associations
Advocacy and Support Groups
- Genetics Home ReferenceFrom the National Library of Medicine, genetics information aimed at a public audience. Includes section titled "Help me understand genetics."
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
