Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up-to-date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Molly Montgomery at molmont@iu.edu.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to health promotion and disease prevention.
- ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowPublic health research and practice containing information from journals, reports, books and conferences from 1973 - present.
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowArticles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs, public and social policy, international relations, and world politics; 1972-present.
- National Vital Statistics System This link opens in a new windowFederal web site providing access to statistical information related to vital events: births, deaths, marriages, divorces and related public health materials.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
- Environmental Health & ToxicologyThe National Library of Medicine's portal to numerous environmental health resources, including databases, data, and literature.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports on the ways humans affect the environment. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Journals
- Health AffairsLeading journal on health policy
- Journal of Health and Human Services AdministrationThe Journal of Health and Human Services Administration (JHHSA) is a quarterly publication of conceptual and empirical research on administrative and managerial topics in the health and human services sectors. JHHSA is affiliated with the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) Section on Health and Human Services Administration (SHHSA).
- Administration and policy in mental healthThis journal publishes peer-reviewed, original empirical research articles and administrative and policy notes, which are commentaries, observations, and/or opinions that are briefer and less research-oriented than articles.
- Journal of Epidemiology & Community HealthJournal of Epidemiology and Community Health is a leading international journal devoted to publication of original research and reviews covering applied, methodological and theoretical issues with emphasis on studies using multidisciplinary or integrative approaches. The journal aims to improve epidemiological knowledge and ultimately health worldwide. JECH is the official journal of the Society for Social Medicine.
- Journal of Clinical EpidemiologyThe Journal of Clinical Epidemiology aims at promoting the quality of clinical and patient-oriented health care research through the advancement and application of innovative methods of: conducting and presenting primary research; synthesizing research results; disseminating results; and translating results into optimal clinical practice.
Books
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach (9th ed) by ISBN: 9781265905026Publication Date: 2024Systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone. Contains key principles, descriptions, and clinical vignettes.
Delivering Health Care in America by ISBN: 9781284124491Publication Date: 2017LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.
Conceptualising Public Health by ISBN: 9781138036833Publication Date: 2018Covering a period stretching from the late nineteenth century to the present day, this book discusses how understandings and meanings of public health have developed in their political and social context, identifying ruptures and redefinitions in its conceptualisation.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by ISBN: 9781610699822Publication Date: 2018Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
- Health Related Statistics GuideThis guide contains multiple resources for locating statistics.
- Public Health Resources for Graduate Students Research Guide from IU Indianapolis' University LibraryThis research guide contains resources related to pubic health and public policy.
- Opiate Addiction & Treatment Research GuideBest practices and statistics on opioid use and treatment.
- Public Health (PH) PartnersThe National Library of Medicine's page on public health information resources. Focus is on FREE resources.
- CDC Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)Includes public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
- Association of State and Territorial Health OfficialsASTHO's state health policy section includes a legislation tracker, reports and resources, and legislative liaisons.
- National Association of County & City Health OfficialsThe advocacy section of the NACCHO's website contains policy statements and letters, funding priorities, and legislative resources.
Partnering Organizations
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
