Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful for the Business of Medicine Scholarly Concentration.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up-to-date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Molly Montgomery at molmont@iu.edu.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to business of medicine.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowArticles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs, public and social policy, international relations, and world politics; 1972-present.
- ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text business database of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry, market, and country profiles. Also contains news (from global to local) of advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, industry, finance, taxation, and management topics.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGeneral and business news as well as company and industry profiles. Daily newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and New York Times can be read here. Allows 4 concurrent users.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNews, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).
Journals
- Innovation and Entrepreneurship in HealthAn international, peer reviewed, open access journal publishing original research, reports, reviews and commentaries on innovation and entrepreneurship in health.
- Harvard Business ReviewWritten for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Books
The Business of Healthcare Innovation by ISBN: 9781107024977Publication Date: 2012Provides an overview and introduction to the innovative sectors fueling improvements in healthcare: pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, platform technology, medical devices and information technology.
The Business of Healthcare by ISBN: 9780275992354Publication Date: 2008Addresses the current state of health care, and provides practical recommendations for improvement. Describes the critical issues that must be resolved to ensure that the industry provides the value that the public both demands and deserves.
Delivering Health Care in America by ISBN: 9781284124491Publication Date: 2017LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.
Other Resources
- Business of Medicine - Market Research GuideThis guide contains useful resources to analyze advertising, branding, social media, as well as insights about consumers, industries, health care trends and research.
- Health Related Statistics GuideThis guide contains multiple resources for locating statistics.
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
