Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
Kellie Kaneshiro
Contact:
Ruth Lilly Medical Library
975 West Walnut St. IB 100
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5121
975 West Walnut St. IB 100
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5121
317-274-1612
Website
Subjects: Medicine
Get Help
(quick questions)
Ask-A-Medical-Librarian
(complex questions)
Request Articles & Books (ILL)
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Biomedical Engineering and Applied Medical Technology Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Hannah Craven at hancrave@iu.edu.
West Lafayette IUSM students have access to the Purdue Library's subscriptions as well. View the Purdue Biomedical Engineering subject guide here.
Articles
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to ASME conference papers (the proceedings) in addition to articles from over 30 ASME journals addressing energy, nanotechnology, biomechanics, dynamic systems, mechanics, and more.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAbstracts from the world's significant engineering and technological literature. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Background Resources
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowRegularly updated engineering reference information. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Journals
- Annals of Biomedical EngineeringAnnals of Biomedical Engineering is an interdisciplinary, international journal which presents original and review articles in the major fields of bioengineering and biomedical engineering.
- Annual Review of Biomedical EngineeringThe Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering covers developments in the broad field of biomedical engineering, including biomechanics, biomaterials, computational genomics and proteomics, tissue engineering, biomonitoring, health care engineering, drug delivery bioelectrical engineering, biochemical engineering, and biomedical imaging topics.
- IEEE Transactions on Biomedical EngineeringThis journal publishes basic and applied papers dealing with biomedical engineering. Papers range from engineering development in methods and techniques with biomedical applications to experimental and clinical investigations with engineering contributions.
- Nature BiotechnologyNature Biotechnology is a monthly journal covering the science and business of biotechnology. It publishes new concepts in technology/methodology of relevance to the biological, biomedical, agricultural and environmental sciences as well as covers the commercial, political, ethical, legal, and societal aspects of this research.
- Trends in BiotechnologyTrends in Biotechnology publishes reviews and perspectives on the applied biological sciences. Major themes include:
biochemical engineering, industrial biotechnology, genome editing, bioinformatics, nanotechnology, biomaterials, imaging, robotics, tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, drug delivery, environmental engineering, and sustainable development.
Books
Biomedical Nanotechnology by ISBN: 9781493968381Publication Date: 2017-02-27This volume provides an overview of some of the types of nanostructures commonly used in nanobiomedicine. The chapters in this book discuss practical information on the synthesis and characterization of a variety of solution-phase and surface-bound nanomaterials, with examples of how they can be used in sensing, imaging, and therapeutics.
Bioinspired Devices by ISBN: 9780674967946Publication Date: 2018-01-08Eugene Goldfield lays out how evolutionary and developmental adaptations function within complex organisms. To exploit the full potential of technologies designed to interact seamlessly with human bodies, properties like these must be better understood and harnessed at every level, from molecules to cells to organ systems.
3D and 4D Printing in Biomedical Applications by ISBN: 9783527344437Publication Date: 2019-03-18This books serves as a professional resource for pharmaceutical/biomedical scientists, researchers, and postgraduate students to develop a deep understanding of key aspects of 3D and 4D printing of medical and pharmaceutical products as well as fundamental challenges and advances associated with their development.
Nanomaterials by ISBN: 9781119370260Publication Date: 2018-07-03This book covers the fundamentals of nanoparticles, state-of-the-art in synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials, and the influence of nanomaterials on the analytical systems (macro to micro & lab-on-a-chip) for biomedical and environmental applications.
Biofabrication and 3D Tissue Modeling by ISBN: 9781788011983Publication Date: 2019-01-03Integrating physics, chemistry, materials science, and stem cell and biomedical engineering, this book provides a foundation to 3D tissue modelling. Includes reviews on key fabrication technologies and processes, including microfluidics, microfabrication technology, and programming approaches to emulating human tissue complexity.
Organizations & Other Resources
- American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) - FellowbookRead about the newest research, awards, announcements and more by the leaders of the medical and biological engineering community.
- Medical Devices - U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationScroll down for: medical device databases, guidance documents, instructions/webinars/how-tos
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- Patents resources - IU IndianapolisContains links to searchable patents databases.
Grant Funding
- IU Research - Funding & ProposalsIU's Research Office provides lots of help for finding funding, etc.
- Community of Science (CoS) PivotProvided through the IU Indianapolis Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. A comprehensive worldwide database including funding opportunities and profiles of millions of potential collaborators. SIGN UP at the login page: 1) click on "signup" 2) click on "Indiana University Indianapolis".
- Introduction to Pivot - DemoIndiana University recording of a 10/15/2020 webinar (1 hour 17 mins)
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
