Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Evansville Liaison Librarian
https://orcid.org/0000-0003-4462-9460About this page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Quality and Innovation in Health Care project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses
Training Modules
- AMA Health Systems Science Learning SeriesFREE ACCESS DURING COVID-19. This series of modules provides medical students with a clear understanding of how health care is delivered, how health care professionals work together to deliver that care, and how the health system can improve patient care and health care delivery.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to quality and innovation in health care.
- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowTry the following terms: "Health care industry", "Lean manufacturing", "Six Sigma", "Quality of care"
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTry: ((DE "QUALITY control") OR (DE "LEAN management")) AND (DE "MEDICAL care")
- EBSCO Management Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTry: ((DE "QUALITY control") OR (DE "LEAN management")) AND (DE "MEDICAL care")
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowTry some of the following terms: "Total Quality Management", "Delivery of Health Care", "Quality Indicators, Health Care", "Delivery of Health Care, Integrated", Health Care Reform", "Health Care Quality, Access, and Evaluation", "Process Assessment (Health Care)", "Outcome Assessment (Health Care)", "Health Care Costs", "Quality of Health Care", "Quality Assurance, Health Care", "Primary Health Care", "Outcome and Process Assessment (Health Care)"
Journals
Top Journals on Healthcare Quality & Innovation:
- BMJ Quality & SafetyThe journal integrates the academic and clinical aspects of quality and safety in healthcare by encouraging academics to create evidence and knowledge valued by clinicians and clinicians to value using evidence and knowledge to improve quality.
- Implementation ScienceAn open access journal that publishes research relevant to the scientific study of methods to promote the uptake of research findings into routine healthcare in clinical, organizational, or policy contexts.
- International Journal for Quality in Health CareOfficial journal of the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua), it is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing research, policy, and implementation related to the quality of health care and health outcomes for populations and patients worldwide.
- American Journal of Medical QualityThis peer-reviewed journal presents a forum for the exchange of ideas, strategies, and methods in improving the delivery and management of health care.
- Journal for Healthcare QualityAn official publication of the National Association for Healthcare Quality, this peer-reviewed journal covers topics such as: Quality Improvement, Patient Safety, Performance Measurement, Best Practices in Clinical and Operational Processes, Innovation, Leadership, Information Technology, Spreading Improvement, Sustaining Improvement, Cost Reduction, and Payment Reform.
More Peer-Reviewed Journals on Healthcare Quality and Innovation
- The Permanente JournalThe journal’s intent is to become an international resource for advances in health care delivery and patient-centered medicine. (All content is immediately available as open access, and no fees are charged for publishing accepted manuscripts.)
- The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient SafetyNOTE: We do not have full-text access to this journal. If you would like the full-text of an article, please request it through our Document Delivery service: https://library.mednet.iu.edu/request-articles-and-books/
- Quality Management in Health CareThis peer-reviewed journal's primary focus is on organizational structure and processes as these affect the quality of care and patient outcomes.
- BMJ Open QualityPeer-reviewed journal with articles covering original research, local, national and international QI projects, value-based healthcare improvement initiatives and educational improvement work are all considered.
- Mayo Clinic Proceedings: Innovations, Quality & OutcomesThis is a new, global, open-access e-only journal publishing original material that focuses on clinical innovations, quality improvement, and optimal outcomes, in medicine and surgery.
- Healthcare: The Journal of Delivery Science and InnovationThe journal welcomes submissions of original research articles, case studies capturing "policy to practice" or "implementation of best practices", commentaries, and critical reviews of relevant novel programs and products.
- Journal of Clinical Outcomes ManagementNOTE: We do not have full-text access to this journal. If you would like the full-text of an article, please request it through our Document Delivery Service: https://library.mednet.iu.edu/request-articles-and-books/
Lists of potential journals in which to publish:
- Journals Publishing Student Work (adapted from Institute for Healthcare Improvement-IHI)A list of peer-reviewed journals and online publications that publish student work on a variety of topics, including quality improvement.
- Journals Publishing Quality and Safety ContentUniversity of Michigan Medical School Quality Department
- Lists of journals to assist the Quality Improvement Community within HealthcareAffiliated with University of Kansas Medical Center
- The Commonwealth FundSince 1995, the Fund has concentrated its efforts on helping to address health care coverage and access issues, improving the quality and efficiency of health care, and slowing the growth of health care costs. The Commonwealth Fund produces more than 200 freely available publications a year. Many of the issue briefs are listed in PubMed.
Books
Quality Health Care by
ISBN: 9781284023077Publication Date: 2019LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. How to plan and implement a successful quality measurement program for clinical and operational aspects of a healthcare facility using case studies.
18 Levers for High-Impact Performance Improvement by ISBN: 9781567939958Publication Date: 2018Practical guide for improving the financial performance of healthcare organizations, bridging the gap between performance improvement theory and real-world application. Applies systems engineering principles and methods to strategic growth, portfolio management, revenue cycle, and clinical utilization improvement.
Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals by ISBN: 9781259641084Publication Date: 2016How to simplify, streamline, analyze, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma, and change management techniques. Explains how to improve operations and quality of care while dramatically reducing costs.
Mistake Proofing for Lean Healthcare by ISBN: 9781439837436Publication Date: 2016Introduces the main concepts and benefits of mistake proofing in healthcare used to help ensure patient safety, improve services, and eliminate waste.
Writing Resources - QI
- SQUIRE 2.0 - Revised Standards for Quality Improvement Reporting ExcellenceThe SQUIRE guidelines provide a framework for reporting new knowledge about how to improve healthcare. Guidelines are intended for reports describing system level work to improve the quality, safety, and value of healthcare and using methods establishing that observed outcomes were due to the intervention(s).
- Schondelmeyer AC, Brower LH, Statile AM, White CM, Brady PW. Quality Improvement Feature Series Article 3: Writing and Reviewing Quality Improvement Manuscripts. J Pediatric Infect Dis Soc. 2018 Aug 17;7(3):188-190. doi: 10.1093/jpids/pix078. PMID: 290407Covers "important considerations in writing quality improvement manuscripts with a focus on how it differs from writing traditional clinical research reports."
- STROBE - STrengthening the Reporting of OBservational studies in EpidemiologyThe STROBE Statement. is a checklist of items that should be included in articles reporting observational research. Recommendations are for the three main analytical designs that are used in observational research: cohort, case-control, and cross-sectional studies.
- RECORD - REporting of studies Conducted using Observational Routinely-collected DataRECORD checklists contain reporting guidelines for studies conducted using routinely-collected health data (such as health administrative data, electronic medical record data, primary care surveillance data, and disease registries).
Writing Templates
- Generic Article templateA template for writing a typical scientific article. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Quality Improvement Article TemplateA writing template for a quality improvement article using SQUIRE guidelines. Created by Dr. Peter J. Kaboli. Document is public domain.
- Scientific Article template (tabular format)A template in tabular format for writing scientific clinical articles. Posted with permission from Dr. William M. Tierney.
- Writing Papers for Peer-Reviewed Journals (class recording)The Scientific Article template is from Dr. William Tierney's class for Translational Science students. View the recording here.
Organizations & Other Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)A federal agency that conducts research and produces evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable and affordable.
- The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)The work of IHI began in the late 1980s as part of the National Demonstration Project on Quality Improvement in Health Care. The goal was to redesign health care into a system without errors, waste, delay, and unsustainable costs.
- Center for Health Innovation & Implementation Science (CHIIS)CHIIS exists to create a network of Change Agents willing to champion improvement in the healthcare industry. Through education and engagement services, healthcare professionals learn a proven evidence-based change methodology, Agile Implementation, designed specifically to improve healthcare.
- The American Society for Quality (ASQ)ASQ provides the quality community with training, professional certifications, and knowledge to a vast network of members of the global quality community.
- The American Health Quality AssociationThis organization represents Quality Improvement Organizations (QIOs) and other professionals working to improve health care quality and patient safety.
- National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ)Dedicated to healthcare quality professionals, this organization offers the only certification in healthcare quality (the CPHQ).
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Grant Funding
- IU Research - Funding & ProposalsIU's Research Office provides lots of help for finding funding, etc.
- Community of Science (CoS) PivotProvided through the IU Indianapolis Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. A comprehensive worldwide database including funding opportunities and profiles of millions of potential collaborators. SIGN UP at the login page: 1) click on "signup" 2) click on "Indiana University Indianapolis".
- Introduction to Pivot - DemoIndiana University recording of a 10/15/2020 webinar (1 hour 17 mins)
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
