LibGuides: Health Sciences: Articles

Core Databases for Health Sciences

This is the starting point for help with health sciences research. All of the resources in this guide are available off-campus. See how to access databases off-campus at this link.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Largest biomedical database. Covers all aspects of medicine.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health database. Good complement to PubMed.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large, multi-disciplinary database. Great place to start your research with a broad search.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IUPUI links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.

Scopus
Multidisciplinary database often used to see which articles have cited each other.

SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, books, and dissertations on sports, fitness, exercise science, and related disciplines.

Rehabilitation Databases

REHABDATA
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.

Public Health & Social/Behavioral Databases

Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide)
This is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force. It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.

PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
Core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of articles related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, etc.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.