LibGuides: Computer Science: Purdue Indy Resources and Guides

Find articles & ebooks: Selected Purdue Resources

Early-on, explore topics and directions for research via ebooks;

Find concise, practical industry-specific trade journal articles using ProQuest Research Library. Find readable, especially credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing topics and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and ACM and limiting to magazine articles. Other resources such as the news and business sources and ebook collections can provide context or additional detail on a topic. Browse and search individual ebook platforms in full-text.

Early-on; explore directions for research

Purdue Libraries search to find articles, ebooks, etc.
Advanced Search page. Adjust the settings to find ebooks, articles, conference proceedings (conference papers), etc. as needed. For example, to find ebooks, switch the Material Type pull-down setting to Books (can focus further using "Book Chapters"). Enter a search expression in the mid-page "search filter” boxes. Specifying a particular field setting such as title can focus the results. Use the lower right “SEARCH” icon. Then at left, under “Filter my results”, at option "Show Only” select "Available Online". For STEM topics, it can be helpful to look at results via “Sort by” settings to see both Sort by Relevance (the default) and Sort by Date-newest. ebook search hits can include ebooks from O'Reilly, Springer, Wiley, and EBSCO.
NexisUni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Business Source Elite
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
Foundations and Trends
A collection of over 100 e-books that present specific topics in Computer Science. Each e-book gives tutorials on a topic, a review of foundational and current literature, and the state of the art in current and seminal research in the topic. These are good resources to learn more about topics in Computer Science that you may be interested in specializing in for graduate school or research. Some of the title have been authored by Purdue CS faculty, some of whom also serve on their editorial boards. Choose between FnT: Machine Learning or FnT: Optimization.
Springer E-Books
Purdue University Libraries' subscription to e-books starts in 2005, with multidisciplinary and substantial technology-related content. The "A-Z" Books page supports browsing and searching. At upper left, the "Springer Nature Link" goes to a site which also includes access to Springer conference papers and journal articles, such as Lecture Notes in Computer Science.
O'Reilly Online Learning
O'Reilly Online Learning is an on-demand digital library providing access to more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video regarding technology, digital media, business, and more.
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable full-text of more than 150 reference books published by Oxford University Press on many subjects in the arts, history, and sciences. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and several of the Oxford Companion series.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Wiley Digital Archives
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 14,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Getting started with Web of Science Database Tutorial

Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore is a large digital library providing full text access to the world's technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics, and applications of information technology to many disciplines.
--Early in a project, limit to magazine articles to obtain excellent overview articles to help develop your topic, consider directions to pursue for solutions.
--Includes a substantial IT-related standards collection; access at Browse.
--See guide box for career development tools: https://iu.libguides.com/compsci#s-lg-box-5301880
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by Association for Computing Machinery. Searches can be expanded to include results from the ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature, which indexes over 2 million articles, technical reports, theses, and other sources in the field of computing beyond the ACM’s.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)
More than 2 million scholarly papers, standards, and abstracts representing all IEEE journal and conference publications. Full text is available online for all titles since 1998 and back to the first volume for selected titles.
INSPEC
Inspec® is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Google Scholar
See guide opening page "How do I?" site regarding remote access to Purdue e-resources if you use this Purdue link to Google Scholar (GS), but don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in GS search results.
Searches for scholarly materials from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Compendex
Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
Web of Science: All Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Scopus
With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports id-depth research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

Database is also a good resource to find a Research Review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text & Index Retrospective
Indexes over 400 English-language periodicals in a wide variety of industrial and mechanical arts, including aeronautics and space science, chemistry, computer technology, construction, engineering, and physics. Partial full-text coverage is available.
SIAM Digital Library
• Provides access to journal articles (1953-present), conference proceedings (2001-current), and select e-books from the Society for industrial and Applied Mathematics.
SPIE Digital Library
Provides access to Includes more than 350,000 technical papers. These papers were published either in the SPIE Proceedings series or in one of the nine SPIE journals. SPIE journals and proceedings are core information resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.
Environmental Studies
Alternate Name(s) GREENR; Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
OSF Preprints
Open resource searching engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other preprint resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest).

Purdue Libraries Services and Specialized Guides

Purdue Research / Resources Subject Guide: Computer Science
Purdue Research / Resources Subject Guide: Artificial Intelligence
Pursue Research / Resource Subject Guide: Bioinformatics
Purdue Research / Resources Subject Guide: Data Science
Purdue U. Research and User Guides & Tutorials
Services | Purdue Libraries
Browse upper tabs FIND, SERVICE, and HELP, for options such as: find books and other Purdue University resources, request an item by Interlibrary Loan, Suggest a Purchase, consult a Purdue Librarian (Ask a Librarian), or contact Purdue IT Support.
See how the Purdue Libraries support Purdue Indy

Purdue University Indy students and staff can access Purdue University resources at any time from anywhere and set Google Scholar to show links to Purdue full-text by following instructions at page. This resource site for troubleshooting remote access to Purdue e-resources has details, if for example, you don't see "Full Text at Purdue" links in Google Scholar search results.

University Library resources are "IP-filtered". Purdue University Indy students and staff can access most University Library electronic resources (campus databases and direct access full-text content via FindIt linking) within University Library or on campus via the campus network. Access to some resources, such as Skillport ebooks, requires using a University Library site link.

Find and use Patents

Search hint: When available, using classification category browsing* may provide more comprehensive results than keyword searching.

Patent Resources on the Web and in the Engineering Library
Purdue Libraries site to find background on patents, determine who owns a patent, access Purdue's readable International Patent resource Derwent Innovations Index, access patent Training Materials and more.
Derwent Innovations Index
A subscription database for Purdue users, this database covers international patents and rewrites the titles in EASIER-TO-READ language. Most topics go back to the 1960s. Chemical structure searching is available. Derwent is recommended for researchers and students, but is not the best choice for a formal patentability search.

"OPEN" Patent Resource Sites:

Patent Public Search, United State Patent and Trademark Office

Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "

The Lens "... over 268+ million scholarly works, 153+ million global patent records... drawn from diverse data sources." Started in 1998 to "render the global patent system more transparent", it is increasingly recommended by users of patent resources. Provides discovery and analytics tools and "cited by" information, and promises privacy. Short videos demonstrateToolset features such as "Explore which articles influence what patents and who is building products".

PATENTSCOPE, from World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Scroll down to the FAQs, including "Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent application?"

The search interface is available in 10 languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish).Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent applicati

"HOW TO" resources:

Video Learning Center, USPTO
Cooperative Patent Classification*
Browse or search patents grouped within nine main sections represented by letters A-H, and Y. "The Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, in force from 1 January 2013... has been jointly developed by the EPO and the USPTO. It combines the best classification practices of the two offices."
Patent Information Tour
Provides insights on patents generally, and especially for US and European patents via the Cooperative Patent Classification system.
VIEW ~1.5 MINUTE video at each tab. Reload the page if necessary.
Introduction to the tour,
Patent information,
Practical aspects*: includes patent classification
Using patent information.

Standards/Codes

Also see a collection of IT-related standards included with IEEE Explore and linked with IEEE's browse options.

Orientation to standards; Purdue Libraries TOOLs and COLLECTIONS of STANDARDS

Purdue Libraries Standards Resources page
Find resources to learn more about standars and determine what standard you may need. Browse additional resource sites such as Indiana Codes and International Codes.

Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs); browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS

Resources: Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs)
US government site
Browse and view Standards Incorporated by Reference (IBR) from ANSI and More
Please note that "...you will need to install a File Open plug-in onto your computer to open and read these files." See links at the top of the FAQ page.
This site supports browsing read-only resources for a wide-ranging group of "IBR Standards hosted by ANSI". IBR Standards are incorporated by reference in the U.S Code of Federal Regulations. Scroll down further to "Standards hosted by SDOS".
Standards.gov: Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their Standards
Browse resources to view or download from a wide variety of standards developing organizations such as Broadband Forum (including cloud computing); ECMA (including consumer electronics, IoT, programming languages, media, storage..." ); IMS Global Learning Consortium; ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee (including standards for topics such as security, computer graphics, and data); The Internet Society.
Conformity assessment
US government site

Resources at University Library not available via Purdue Libraries

These resources are not available through the Purdue Libraries. University Library resources are "IP-filtered". Purdue University Indy students and staff can access most University Library electronic resources (campus databases and direct access full-text content via FindIt linking) within University Library or on campus via the campus network. Access to some resources, such as Skillport ebooks, requires using a University Library website link.

Skillport 8i
Information Technology and Business, including manuals for software such as Microsoft Office. We have access to: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel. Note: Students must be currently enrolled in order to access
ProQuest Ebook Central
This database contains ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. Formerly ebrary. Includes library subscription to Academic Complete.
AccessEngineering
Regularly updated engineering reference information including standards-related materials.

Finding and Using Electronic Books - IU Indy
Addresses details such as if/how an ebook on a particular vender platform can be downloaded in addition to options such as viewing content online.
OneSearch BasicSearch
Select the OneSearch tab. OneSearch searches most library resources. After an initial keyword search, at the results page, you can choose Source Type or All Filters to limit by various types of sources.