Professional society magazine articles, available by filtering IEEE or ACM search results to resource type magazine articles, along with books, can provide a high level overview of a topic to improve your understanding of a new topic and uncover possible directions for future research. You can use full-text searches at an individual ebook platform, or search across all ebook platforms at once via library homepage searchbar options IUCAT or OneSearch.
Early-on; explore directions for research
Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers
SEARCH and BROWSE for STANDARDS via University Library SUBSCRIPTION ACCESS
Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs); browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS
The Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library has a collection of U.S. Patents from the early 1970's to the present. For more information, call 317-275-4100.
Search hint: When available, using classification category browsing* may provide more comprehensive results than keyword searching.
Global Patent Index (GPI) - European Patent Office (EPO) "... More than 500 000 patent documents are added every month." Site claims "We provide access to the largest single source of technical information in the world: our databases containing millions of patent documents."
Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "
The Lens "... over 268+ million scholarly works, 153+ million global patent records... drawn from diverse data sources." Started in 1998 to "render the global patent system more transparent", it is increasingly recommended by users of patent resources. Provides discovery and analytics tools and "cited by" information, and promises privacy. Short videos demonstrateToolset features such as "Explore which articles influence what patents and who is building products".
PATENTSCOPE, from World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Scroll down to the FAQs, including "Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent application?"
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - The government's free, searchable database of United States patents, patent applications, and trademarks. It provides coverage of patent materials from 1790 to the present.
The search interface is available in 10 languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish).Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent applicati
"HOW TO" resources:
To search for e-content such as accessible ebooks from across the campus ebook platforms: after doing an search, select "Online Only" and at left, limit results to Campus = Indianapolis.
Start with simple "title keyword" or "keyword anywhere" searches; e.g.: programming AND java
See: E-Books: Finding and Using Electronic Books for details such as downloading to a mobile device.
If you are affiliated with IU Indianapolis, you will be able to access almost all of the library's electronic resources (databases) on campus or remotely, from home or other location. Library resources are "IP-filtered". The simplest method for access is to use a library site coded link to the resource, which can bring up an IU login popup window to authenticate. Other methods include using the IU Indy campus computer network, setting up an EZProxy bookmarklet or connecting via IUanyWare. See "Off-Campus Access to Resources (EZ Proxy)". Note that for Skillport IT- and Business-related ebooks, using a library site link is required on or off the campus network.
If you are affiliated with Purdue Indianapolis, you will be able to access these resources and links when within the library.
