LibGuides: Professional Perspectives: Industry Research

Tip: Search NAICS / Industry code

Industry codes are numbers used to describe a company's line of business. You'll see the option to search by industry codes in many business databases, as well as U.S. Economic Census. The current standard for industry codes is the 6-digit North American Industry Classification Systems (NAICS) code.

NAICS Codes Lookup

Overviews, Trends, & Analysis

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Has U.S. industry reports by NAICS code and U.S. industry risk reports. Also has Global and China industry reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Has US and global industry reports. Reports use Five Forces analysis.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Market trends and qualitative insights in consumer and business markets. Features market research publishers Kalorama Information (Healthcare / Life Sciences), Mind Commerce (Technology), Freedonia Focus Reports (industry research, and Packaged Facts (Consumer).

Bloomberg
In Library Use Only. Allows users to drill into sectors to get industry specific trends and analysis including an industry primer, critical themes, key financial indicators, competitor data, and market share.

Enter BI and hit Enter/GO.

S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides public and private company information, executive biography and compensation, industry trends and outlook, investment ratings and stock rankings, and analytical tools. CFRA analyst ratings and reports on companies, mutual funds, ETFs as well as industry surveys.

NOTE:Requires individual registration for access. To sign up, select “New User?” in the upper right. You will receive an email with a link to register. If you are already registered, click "Log in" in the upper right.
D&B Hoovers (formerly Global Business Browser) This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, executives, news, and industry information. Company profiles include business focus, history, competition, SWOT analysis, executive, news coverage, and financial reports. Industry information includes access to market research, industry norms, industry ratios. Access issues? click on "more..." below
There has been an issue at times with accessing D&B Hoovers, especially off campus, due to DUO authentication. Specifically, if people had set their DUO authentication to remember them for seven days, and try to access one of these systems, they may find they cannot gain access to the database in question.

If and when this occurs, we recommend as a best solution to OPEN AN INCOGNITO WINDOW and access the database in that way. This will force the person to reauthenticate in DUO at the time of access and solve the problem.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
In addition to finding articles about the industry you can find industry reports, market research, and data reports. Hint: Use Advanced Search, Search for the appropriate NAICS Code, and select the document types you are looking for, such as Industry Report.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
In addition to articles you can search for Industry Profiles. To do this go to advanced search and select "Industry Profile" under Publication Type.
SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
News and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association, the U.S. Department of Commerce, and other sources on sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.