LibGuides: Professional Perspectives: Company Research

Use Ticker Symbols to Research Public Companies

Publicly traded companies have ticker symbols, which act as a unique identifier on the exchange they are traded on. You can search databases using a company's ticker symbol narrowing your results to exactly the company you are looking for.

Look up ticker symbol: Yahoo!Finance

Databases with Profiles & Financial Information

D&B Hoovers (formerly Global Business Browser) This link opens in a new window
Search for company profiles, executives, news, and industry information. Company profiles include business focus, history, competition, SWOT analysis, executive, news coverage, and financial reports. Industry information includes access to market research, industry norms, industry ratios. Access issues? click on "more..." below
There has been an issue at times with accessing D&B Hoovers, especially off campus, due to DUO authentication. Specifically, if people had set their DUO authentication to remember them for seven days, and try to access one of these systems, they may find they cannot gain access to the database in question.

If and when this occurs, we recommend as a best solution to OPEN AN INCOGNITO WINDOW and access the database in that way. This will force the person to reauthenticate in DUO at the time of access and solve the problem.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General and business news as well as company and industry profiles. Daily newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and New York Times can be read here. Allows 4 concurrent users.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Global business and financial information, including Investext database, which provides analyst reports.

Bloomberg

Hoover’s Company Profiles (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.

Professional Perspectives

Getting started

Use Ticker Symbols to Research Public Companies

Databases with Profiles & Financial Information

Most Popular Business Article Databases