LibGuides: Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology: IU Indy: Access within the library

Select University Library resources

Digital resources can be accessed by Purdue Indy affiliated users only when within the library. Use a library coded link to the resource.

Human Resource Management Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, training videos, etc. mapped to human resource management.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request.
- Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM.
- For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES
If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions
Academic Video Online : Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video subscription, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
For more description and tutorials, see https://iu.libguides.com/avon

PLEASE NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions, Sony Pictures Classics films can only be viewed from within the United States. If you are trying to access such a film while physically outside the US, your film will be blocked.

A guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK guide), seventh edition
2021. Unlimited concurrent users, across all IU campuses.
Additional Materials regarding project management and other management topics can be searched and browsed using tips and links at the Organizational Leadership books/ebooks page https://iu.libguides.com/ols/books
97 Things Every Engineering Manager Should Know: Collective Wisdom from the Experts
2019.

Materials Resources

MatWeb
An open access database of basic engineering materials data.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
4th Edition, 2016.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Browse large collection by Subject, Industry, and Course. Content is regularly updated. Includes interactive tables and charts. SEARCH HINT: to see materials-related categories, enter a keyword in the search box such as building or interior.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Technical papers, standards, books, periodicals, regarding logistics, material properties, automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Resource doesn't employ our FindIt system to obtain full-text. Would need to request SAE full-text that we don't have here via our Interlibrary Loan Resource on the library homepage.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
To effectively search for Articles on materials-related topics, use Browse Indexes: Controlled terms, adding a term such as building materials, interior, lighting to see numerous specialized topics. Checking a term sends it to the search box.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.

Standards/Codes

Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs); browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS

Browse and view Standards Incoporated by Reference (IBR) from ANSI and More
Browse read-only resources for a wide-ranging group of "IBR Standards hosted by ANSI". IBR Standards, incorporated by reference in the U.S Code of Federal Regulations, include organizations such as IEC, the International Electrotechnical Commission; HFES, the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society; ISA, the International Society of Automation; and MSS, the Manufacturers Standardization Society of the Valve and Fittings Industry. Scroll down further to "Standards hosted by SDOS". Among numerous others, these standards developing organizations include AHRI, the Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Read-only Standards & Guidelines
Browse and view many popular ASHRAE standards and guidelines. Scroll further down for many standards and guidelines referenced in code. Also see Erata link for numerous corrections, including many produced recently. : "When it is determined that a published standard, guideline, code, or user's manual contains an error or errors, an errata sheet may be published "
The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Reading Room
An ASTM membership, including free student memberships (apply online), provides multiple career development opportunities such as reduced future professional membership fees. Browse resources including this group of read-only ASTM standards referenced in federal regulations or law.
Standards.gov: Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their Standards
Browse a wide range of resources from organizations that develop standards.

SEARCH and BROWSE for STANDARDS via University Library SUBSCRIPTION ACCESS

MAD CAD Building Codes eLibrary This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Enter a keyword or term to see suggested subjects.

Resources at University Library not available via Purdue Libraries

These resources are not available through the Purdue Libraries. These and other University Library resources can be accessed only by using a University Library-coded link when within the library.

Skillport 8i This link opens in a new window
Information Technology and Business, including manuals for software such as Microsoft Office. We have access to: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel. Note: Students must be currently enrolled in order to access
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
This database contains ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. Formerly ebrary. Includes library subscription to Academic Complete.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.

Guide to using IUPUI ebooks
Addresses details such as if/how an ebook on a particular vender platform can be downloaded.
OneSearch BasicSearch
Select the OneSearch tab. OneSearch searches most library resources. After an initial keyword search, at the results page, you can choose Source Type or All Filters to limit by various types of sources.

Sample eBooks to present & write

Scientific papers made easy: How to write with clarity and impact in the life sciences
Oxford University Press, 2023.
The literature review: Six steps to success
2022 4th ed. Multiple users access.
Communicating with data: The art of writing for data science
Oxford University Press, 2021.
The productive graduate student writer: How to manage your process, time, and energy to write your research proposal, thesis, and dissertation--and get published
2019. Unlimited users access.
Technical writing: A practical guide for engineers, scientists, and nontechnical professionals
Laplante; 2nd ed. 2018. Unlimited users access.
Conducting business across borders: Effective communication in English with non-Native speakers
Wallwork; 2018. Unlimited users access.
The IEEE guide to writing in the engineering and technical fields
Kmiec; Longo, & Longo; 2017. Unlimited users access.
Writing science right: Strategies for teaching scientific and technical writing
Neuen and Tebeaux; 2017.
How to write and present technical information
Sides; 4th ed. 2017. Unlimited users access.
Craft of research
Booth; 4rd. ed. 2016. Readable; focuses on academic research & writing. Unlimited users access.
How to write a thesis
Eco; MIT Press, 2015. Unlimited users access.
Writing for computer science
3rd ed. 2014. Unlimited users access. "...this third edition provides detailed guidance on writing and presentations and a comprehensive introduction to research methods..."