LibGuides: Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology: Help & Purdue Resource Highlights

Help Options

QUICK Library Research HELP. University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:

By phone : 317-274-0469 or 317-274-0472
By chat Monday - Friday 9 - 4 at left side of page: Research Help
By e-mail: renewal@iu.edu
By text: (66746)
In-person at the 2nd level lobby Information/Reference desk

Please note that the library's QUICK HELP service can't help you learn to use a Purdue resource unless that resource is also available at University Library.

For ADDITIONAL HELP, please contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rhalver@purdue.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For best results, please include your course and section number and background details, especially

details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.

To request a RESERVATION to meet, please use the library's "Make an Appointment" page, selecting my name from the list of subject librarians. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~

How Do I? Write, Properties of Materials, FAQs

Remote Access to Purdue eResources
Purdue University Indy students and staff can access Purdue University resources remotely. USE the option shown here for Google Scholar if you use the Purdue Link to Google Scholar (GS) given on this page at "Selected Purdue Resources" but still don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in GS search results.
Find the Properties of Materials
Purdue Libraries resource page to find MATERIAL PROPERTIES.
Access Purdue online writing resources and SCHEDULE a Personal Writing consultation
Find extensive online resources on the OWL site. To request a writing consultation, scroll down at left to "Writing Consultations".
Search or browse for industry news and resources
Large directory includes organizations, suppliers, events, and other sites from around the world.
Find online resouces for the architectural Industry: ArchNet
Online International community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.
Uncover data and local perspective on companies, industries, etc.: InContext
Local source for marketing, PR, demographics, Census, researching companies in a geographic area, etc. InContext is the award-winning publication of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. It is published online every other month, offering substantive articles on the Indiana economy in context within the state and the nation.
Make resources work for you: How-To Guides
Browse University Library guides regarding citation management software to support your writing, copyright and fair use, and more. Find support regarding research topics such as how to evaluate sources, narrow your topic, improve your search terms and get more relevant results.
Find resources such as audio/visual materials giving options to share use: Creative Commons
Site allows owners of creative materials to specify if or how others can use these.
Determine whether fair use applies: Fair Use Checklist
Courtesy of Copyright Advisory Services, Columbia University Libraries.

Find articles & ebooks: Selected Purdue Resources

Early-on, explore topics and directions for research

Find concise, practical industry-specific trade journal articles using ProQuest Research Library. Find readable, especially credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing topics and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and limiting to magazine articles. Other resources such as news and business sources and ebook collections can provide context or additional detail on a topic. Browse and search individual ebook platforms in full-text.

Purdue Libraries ebook search
Search hits include ebooks from O'Reilly, Springer, Wiley, and EBSCO. At the Purdue Libraries Advanced Search page, enter a search expression. Switch the Material Type setting from All Items to Books. Do the search. Then at left, select filter option Show Only to Available Online. For many STEM topics, it's helpful to change Sort by from Relevance to Date-newest.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers

Google Scholar
SEE upper "How do I?" site regarding REMOTE ACCESS to Purdue e-resources IF you use this Purdue link to Google Scholar (GS), but still don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in GS search results.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Architectural Digest Archive
An extensive collection of the famed international design magazine from its first issue in 1920 through 2011, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published monthly, the magazine has enjoyed a longstanding reputation as the definitive source for architects and interior designers as well as for everyday design enthusiasts. Each issue features beautiful photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products.
Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information from more than 900 periodicals, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Researchers can track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods, and find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles, and much more. Indexing of art reproductions helps users find virtually any work of interest—including works by emerging artists—as well as examples of styles and movements in art.
ASCE Research Library
ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles and conference papers published by the American Society of Civil Engineers in all disciplines of civil engineering. It provides access to more than 33,000 full-text papers from Journals (1993 - present), Proceedings (1996 - present), and Standards (1983 - present).
Compendex
Compendex® is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Note: The following standards collections are indexed in Compendex: ACI, AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, AWS, AWWA, BSI/ISO, IEEE, IET, SAE, SMPTE, TAPPI (as of 6/2/2021).
GeoRef
Covers topics such as soils, soil physics and construction, hydrology, geothermal energy, engineering geology, earthquakes, volcanoes, etc.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to a large collection of articles and papers addressing with wide-ranging applications of information technology to topics such as design, manufacturing and construction,
GreenFile
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Purdue Libraries Services and Specialized Guide Pages

Purdue Research/Resources Course Guide: CM 635: Advanced Facilities Management
Purdue U. Research and User Guides & Tutorials
Home | Purdue Libraries
Browse upper tabs FIND, SERVICE, and HELP, for options such as: find books and other Purdue University resources, request an item by Interlibrary Loan, Suggest a Purchase, or quickly consult a Purdue Librarian (Ask a Librarian).
See how the Purdue Libraries support Purdue Indy

Purdue University Indy students and staff are expected to be able to access Purdue University resources at any time from anywhere and set Google Scholar to show links to Purdue full-text by following instructions at page. THIS RESOURCE SITE FOR REMOTE ACCESS to Purdue e-resources has details, if for example, you don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in Google Scholar search results.

Purdue University Indy students and staff will be able to access and use almost all University Library electronic resources (campus databases and direct access full-text content), but only within University Library. Library resources are "IP-filtered". Access typically requires using a University Library site link.

End-of-Class Evaluation

Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IU login).

Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!

End of Class Evaluation

End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code

	Find Us: https://iu.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUILibrary
	Like Us: IUI University Library
	Follow Us: @IUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian

Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology

Subject Librarian

Contact Us

Help Options

How Do I? Write, Properties of Materials, FAQs

Find articles & ebooks: Selected Purdue Resources

Purdue Libraries Services and Specialized Guide Pages

End-of-Class Evaluation