LibGuides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: 2: Find Materials

Find Articles - Subject Databases

Women's Studies is very interdisciplinary, so exploring databases of different, related subjects (for example, psychology, or history) can often help you find sources on your topic.

Not sure how to identify scholarly versus popular articles? Or what a scholarly article is? Check out our graphic explaining popular versus scholarly sources.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1987-present) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly articles in the arts and humanities.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Academic, grey, and popular literature supporting research in LGBTQ studies; family studies; gender and women's studies; 1970-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish from 1959-present.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.

History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles.
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and citations to articles in the humanities, including book reviews.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General interest, business, health, and historical U.S. documents, including Consumer Reports, Business Week, NY Times, and The Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Article citations published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and conference papers, 1908-present.

ViVa
A bibliography of women's history in historical and women's studies journals

Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and documents of women in social movements in the U.S.

Find Articles - Interdisciplinary Databases

Not sure what discipline covers your topic? Not finding enough information? Interdisciplinary databases contain articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar contains more scholarly information than a regular Google Search. But beware! Not everything comes from a peer-reviewed scholarly journal, so, as with everything, evaluate your sources before using them.

Web of Science and SCOPUS, while interdisciplinary, are weighted towards science.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window

Find Primary Sources

Not sure what primary sources are? Check out an graphic which explains the characteristics of primary versus secondary sources.

United States

American Memory "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850 - 1920
CWLU Herstory Project
Documents the history of the women's liberation movement in Chicago during the 1960's-1970s.
Digital Public Library of America
A portal for digital cultural heritage collections from a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, universities, libraries, historical societies, museums and beyond from across the United States. Includes books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials.
Discovering American Women's History Online
provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
An on-line archival collection of the Special Collections Library, Duke University.

History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles.

Home Economics Archives: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH)
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. Collection created by Mann Library, Cornell University.
National Archives and Records Administration: Women's History
A guide to researching women's history through the United States National Archives. Subjects include African-American women, families and children, suffrage, temperance, women in the military, and other subject areas related to women's history.
National Women's History Project
Source for updates about events, conferences, publications, films and other resources related to U.S. women's history.

North American Women's Drama (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, from colonial times to the present.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources and documents of women in social movements in the U.S.

Women Come to the Front
Journalists, photographers, and broadcasters During World War II.
Women's Rights National Historical Park
The park commemorates the First Women's Rights Convention and the early leaders of the women's rights movement in the United States.
Women Working, 1800-1930
"Focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images"-collection's website.

International

Black Women Writers (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Fiction, poetry, and essays of women from Africa and the African Diaspora.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Women's Letters and Diaries, 1500-1950.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents (Gale : Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
Compiled from Cuban sources, works span the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime.
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Volumes of poetry by ~50 Irish women writing from 1768-1842.
Latin American Women Writers (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Prose, poetry, drama, and essays by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Women and Social Movements, International (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Victorian Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.

Find Census Data

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window

Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
Provided the U.S. Census Bureau, this page contains a variety of information on every census from 1790 through 2000. Contains numerous facts, figures, and statistical abstracts, along with questionnaires and instructions from each census. Includes historic census data from the Decennial Censuses from 1790-1860, 1990, 2000 (PDF). Contains comments and Table of Contents on 1870-1980 Censuses
University Library Research Guide for Government Resources: Census Data
2010 Census Data

Find Biographical Information

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Profiles of men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped American history.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Search narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to 2009.

Organizations

National Organization for Women (NOW)
Organization devoted to furthering women's rights through education and litigation.
National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.
Women's Studies Departments and Research Centers
Compiled by University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
National Women's History Project
For updates about events, conferences, publications, films and other resources related to U.S. women's history.

Find Videos

Academic Video Online : Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video subscription, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
For more description and tutorials, see https://iu.libguides.com/avon

PLEASE NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions, Sony Pictures Classics films can only be viewed from within the United States. If you are trying to access such a film while physically outside the US, your film will be blocked.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request.
- Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM.
- For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES
If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions