QUICK Library Research HELP. University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:
Please note that the library's QUICK HELP service can't help you learn to use a Purdue resource unless the resource is also available at University Library.
For ADDITIONAL HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Canvas message suggestions or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rhalver@purdue.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For best results, please include your course and section number and background details, especially
details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.
To request a RESERVATION to meet, please use the library's "Make an Appointment" page, selecting my name from the list of subject librarians. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)
Early-on; explore directions for research
Databases listed just below can help you explore and focus your topic and potential solutions.
Find concise, practical trade journal articles and readable magazine articles using ProQuest Research Library. Find readable, especially credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing topics and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and ACM and limiting to magazine articles. Other resources such as news, business, or ebook collections can help provide context or additional detail on a topic.
Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers
Try focusing on two or three core article databases resources listed below in this box, testing several search strategies to find the most relevant articles.
Orientation to standards; Purdue Libraries TOOLs and COLLECTIONS of STANDARDS
Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs); browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS
Purdue University Indy students and staff can access Purdue University resources at any time from anywhere and set Google Scholar to show links to Purdue full-text by following instructions at page. THIS RESOURCE SITE FOR REMOTE ACCESS to Purdue e-resources has details, if for example, you don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in Google Scholar search results.
Purdue University Indy students and staff are expected to be able to access almost all University Library electronic resources (campus databases and direct access full-text content), but only within University Library. Library resources are "IP-filtered". Access typically requires using a University Library site link.
Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IU login).
Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!
End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code
