IUCAT is Indiana University's online library catalog. Search it to find items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, government publications, journals, and other types of material.
Gathering background information, or pre-searching, helps you:
Gain familiarity with a topic
Establish a context for your topic
Focus your topic
Identify experts, or "big names," in the field
Find references to other books and articles relevant to your research
Encyclopedias, in print or online, are a good place to begin looking for background information. Try these sources:
Abajo hay una lista de libros que tenemos en University Library, sin embargo, hay muchos más aquí en IUPUI y en otros campus de IU. Busca más recursos en IUCAT.
Collins Spanish Dictionary Complete and Unabridged 8th Edition
This eighth edition includes the latest vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including the Internet, computing and business. Further help for the user is provided by new lexical and grammatical notes tackling classic translation problems. Ideal for advanced learners of Spanish.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
Pocket Oxford English-Spanish dictionary
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Spanish-English dictionary.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
The Gran Diccionario Oxford by
Includes the latest vocabulary from Latin American Spanish and American English; this brand new edition covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish-speaking world-from Spain to Mexico, from Peru to the River Plate. This edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary features 20,000 new entries (10,000 in each language), with the updating focused particularly on business, IT, and scientific terminology. Special entries on life and culture explain the differences between institutions, administrative systems, educational systems, and general life in the Spanish and English-speaking worlds.
The University of Chicago Spanish-English Dictionary (Diccionario Universidad de Chicago Inglés-Español) by
Completely bilingual, the dictionary focuses on two contemporary international languages, American English and a worldwide Spanish rooted in both Latin American and Iberian sources. The sixth edition has been updated with six thousand new words and meanings selected for their frequency of use, rising popularity, and situational necessity. In order to best represent the dynamic and increasingly connected cultures of three continents, this edition features enhanced coverage of the vocabulary associated with four areas of increasing global importance: medicine, business, digital technology, and sports.
Harrap Spanish Dictionary by
A reference aimed at students, translators and business people, this two-colour Spanish dictionary includes large numbers of examples of usage as well as extensive coverage of regional varieties of English and Spanish. Latin-American words and expressions are labelled according to the individual country or region where they are most typically used. The book features over 250,000 references; supplements on verb tables and irregular verbs; a high number of computing, technical, scientific, business and specialist terms; and extensive coverage of encyclopaedic terms, geographical terms, proper names and historical events.
Mopan Maya-Spanish-English Dictionary by
This is a highly valuable dictionary of the Mopan (Mayan) language. In addition to its many entries, it also provides an introductory grammatical description, as well as general dictionary features such as parts of speech, examples, cross-references, variant forms, homophones, and indexes. The book also contains special sections on orthography and pronunciation unique to this important Mayan language, as well as translations into English and Spanish. The dictionary has the merits well known from other dictionaries of indigenous languages of the Americas, preserving knowledge systems as they are encoded in vocabulary and providing valuable information for numerous fields, including Mayanists, Mesoamericanists, American Indian scholars, anthropologists, historians, linguists, students of Mayan hieroglyphic writing, and members of modern Mayan communities, among others. This is the second book in the new Smithsonian-Utah Publications in American Indian Languages (SUPAIL) series, a joint venture of the University of Utah Press and the Smithsonian Institution.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
Esta caja tiene varias pestañas con enlaces para diccionarios, tesauros, y recursos de la gramática, ortografía, lingüística y traducción. Recursos con el símbolo de accesso abierto (
) indican que son libremente disponible por la red y gratis.
Below are just a few of the many titles we have on Spanish and Hispanic culture. Search IUCAT for more!
A Companion to Spanish Cinema by
A Companion to Spanish Cinema is a bold collection of newly commissioned essays written by top international scholars that thoroughly interrogates Spanish cinema from a variety of thematic, theoretical and historic perspectives. Presents an insightful and provocative collection of newly commissioned essays and original research by top international scholars from a variety of theoretical, disciplinary and geographical perspectives Offers a systematic historical, thematic, and theoretical approach to Spanish cinema, unique in the field Combines a thorough and insightful study of a wide spectrum of topics and issues with in-depth textual analysis of specific films Explores Spanish cinema's cultural, artistic, industrial, theoretical and commercial contexts pre- and post-1975 and the notion of a "national" cinema Canonical directors and stars are examined alongside understudied directors, screenwriters, editors, and secondary actors Presents original research on image and sound; genre; non-fiction film; institutions, audiences and industry; and relations to other media, as well as a theoretically-driven section designed to stimulate innovative research
Hispanic American Religious Cultures by
This encyclopedia is the first comprehensive survey of Hispanic American religiosity, contextualizing the roles of Latino and Latina Americans within U.S. religious culture. * More than 100 entries on specific religious and spiritual traditions among Hispanic Americans, detailing the historic development of their distinctive Latino/a character * Dozens of contributing scholars, each an expert in Hispanic religious traditions
Music in the Hispanic Caribbean by
** Music in the Hispanic Caribbean is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of musicaround the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present.**The Spanish-speaking islands of Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Dominican Republic make up a relatively small region, but their musical and cultural traditions have had a dramatic, sweeping impact on the world. The first brief, stand-alone volume to explore the music of these three islands, Music in theHispanic Caribbean provides a vibrant introduction to diverse musical styles including salsa, merengue, reggaeton, plena, Latin jazz, and the bolero. Ethnomusicologist Robin Moore employs three themes in his survey of Hispanic Caribbean music:* The cultural legacy of the slave trade* The creolization of Caribbean musical styles* Diaspora, migration, and movement Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's traditional musical genres as well as its more contemporary forms. The author draws on his extensive regional fieldwork, offering accounts of local performances, interviews with key performers, and vivid illustrations.A compelling, comprehensive review, Music in the Hispanic Caribbean is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses on Caribbean and Latin American music and/or culture. Packaged with a 70-minute CD containing musical examples, the text features numerous listening activities that actively engage students with the music. The companion website (www.oup.com/us/globalmusic) includes supplementary materials for instructors.
Spanish and Empire by
Essays in this volume deal with the historical, linguistic, and ideological legacy of the Spanish Empire and its language in the New World.
The Spectacular City, Mexico, and Colonial Hispanic Literary Culture by
Winner, Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize, Modern Language Association, 2010 The Spectacular City, Mexico, and Colonial Hispanic Literary Culture tracks the three spectacular forces of New World literary culture--cities, festivals, and wonder--from the sixteenth to the seventeenth century, from the Old World to the New, and from Mexico to Colombia, Peru, and Bolivia. It treats a multitude of imperialist and anti-imperialist texts in depth, including poetry, drama, protofiction, historiography, and journalism. While several of the landmark authors studied, including Hern#65533;n Cort#65533;s and Sor Juana In#65533;s de la Cruz, are familiar, others have received remarkably little critical attention. Similarly, in spotlighting creole writers, Merrim reveals an intertextual tradition in Mexico that spans two centuries. Because the spectacular city reaches its peak in the seventeenth century, Merrim's book also theorizes and details the spirited work of the New World Baroque. The result is the rich examination of a trajectory that leads from the Renaissance ordered city to the energetic revolts of the spectacular city and the New World Baroque.
The Transatlantic Hispanic Baroque by
Gathering a group of internationally renowned scholars, this volume presents cutting-edge research on the complex processes of identity formation in the transatlantic world of the Hispanic Baroque. Identities in the Hispanic world are deeply intertwined with sociological concepts such as class and estate, with geography and religion (i.e. the mixing of Spanish Catholics with converted Jews, Muslims, Dutch and German Protestants), and with issues related to the ethnic diversity of the world s first transatlantic empire and its various miscegenations. Contributors to this volume offer the reader diverse vantage points on the challenging problem of how identities in the Hispanic world may be analyzed and interpreted. A number of contributors relate earlier processes and formations to Neo-Baroque and postmodern conceptualisations of identity. Given the strong interest in identity and identity-formation within contemporary cultural studies, the book will be of interest to a broad group of readers from the fields of law, geography, history, anthropology and literature."
