Buscar artículos y revistas - Spanish | español - LibGuides at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Article & Citation Databases

Article and citation databases will contain both articles (full text) and citations to articles (with "Find It" links to the full text). Articles can be scholarly, from popular news sources like magazines, or sometimes from trade magazines particular to an industry or a profession. Each database contains different types and amounts of information. Hover over the (i) to find out more about each database and to help you select the one that is most appropriate for your information need.

Also see the "Recursos de la red" page for Open Access databases from Latin America and beyond.

Broad multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on a variety of subjects. Use this database when you don't know where else to start!
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish from 1959-present.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
See the Search Help page http://hapi.ucla.edu/help for tips on using this database.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A large, multi-disciplinary database that includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals -- including those written in other languages.

General humanities/social sciences databases

Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text and citations to articles in the humanities, including book reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Search the full-text of hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals including Language and Literature, Linguistics, Religion, and more. Articles are written in English and other languages. Many journals are under an embargo; please search other databases for more up-to-date content.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites written in Western languages since 1923. Coverage includes literature from all over the world in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Like JSTOR, Project Muse allows you to search the full-text of scholarly journals and ebooks focused on world languages. Articles are written in English and other languages.

Subject-specific databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window Find photographs and images of paintings, sculptures, and other masterpieces from artists from around the world.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database provides extensive access to education-related literature.
Explora Educator's Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to present.
Latin American Women Writers (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. The database features 103,624 pages of prose, poetry and drama.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window Latino Literature will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays when completed. Its content represents the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international language literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences as far back as 1973. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Articles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs, public and social policy, international relations, and world politics; 1972-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Journals, books, and conference papers, 1908-present.

Other databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive research resource for communication and related disciplines. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Factiva This link opens in a new window Factiva covers world news in multiple languages.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window Information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Informe Académico (Gale) This link opens in a new window Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request. Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM. For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).

Finding the Full-Text of an Article - Long

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

Detailed description of, "Finding Full Text" diagram

Citation Linker

If you have the citation of an article, you can quickly and easily find the full text from IU Indy using this Citation Linker.

Simply enter appropriate citation information into the form below, press the 'Look Up' button to view full text options.

Please include one of the Journal, ISSN, DOI, or PMID information.

Article Title:

Journal: *			ISSN: *

DOI: *			PMID: *