LibGuides: Nutrition and Dietetics: Point of Care Resources

General Point of Care Resources

Natural Medicines: The Authority on Integrative Medicine This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. For each therapy covered by Natural Medicines, a research team systematically gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Quick access to full-text medical and surgical resources, including ebooks, journal articles, and clinical practice guidelines.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier product as well.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
DynaMedex combines the clinical evidence and guidance from accredited experts in DynaMed with drug information from Micromedex. It is designed to facilitate clinical decision-making at the point of care.

Library Subscription Apps

Tip: Recommend being on a secure wireless connection, such as Eduroam at Indiana University or a VPN. Some apps will download large amounts of information.

Access App
First, go to the AccessMedicine link (above) Click on the "Sign In" button on the top right corner, and click on the "Sign In or Create a Free Access Profile" link. Select the "Create a Free Access Profile" button to register your account. Then download the app on your device, and use your Access Profile account login in to open the app. Help is available at: Access App: Getting Started
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
The Library subscribes to: AccessAnesthesiology, AccessMedicine, AccessObGyn, AccessSurgery. Not included in the App are: Case Files Collection and JAMAevidence. You will need to log into your personal account through the Medical Library's website every 90 days to continue using the App.
APSA Pediatric Surgery Library (NaT) App
First create a username and password using the link above. Click Sign In, then Register, and select Pediatric Surgery Library. Once your username and password have been created, download the mobile app, use your newly created account information to unlock the app. Includes Pediatric Surgery NaT (Not a Textbook).
Note: The app can can only be installed on one device at any given time. ExPERT CME is NOT part of the library subscription.
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
Board Vitals
You MUST be onsite at Indiana University for your first login. Sign up using your institutional email address and you will be logged in and registered for BoardVitals. Once you have logged in the first time, your account has been authenticated and you can visit https://library.indianapolis.iu.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_in at any location at any time to continue using BoardVitals. Provides thousands of questions that cover all categories presented on the USMLE Steps 1, 2, &3 and NBME Shelf Exams.
Available: Google Play Store or App Store
Browzine
Download the BrowZine app from your app store and open. Under Library, choose: Indiana University School of Medicine. NOTE: You may need to enter your IU username, passphrase and DUO to access full text of articles. Access the Browzine Help Sheet .
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
DynaMedex
Evidence-based point of care database that includes drug information from Micromedex.

Before downloading the app, check to see if your mobile device meets the requirements necessary to use the app by going to For step by step instructions on how to download and use the app. If your device meets the requirements, click on the Dynamedex link (located above), and create a personal account (different from your IU School of Medicine account). To create a personal account:
- click on the person icon located in the upper right
- then click the sign in button
- then click on the register now link
Once registered, use your personal account information to unlock the app. There are three installation options, each taking up more space on your device: online only (use via internet connection), partial install (full images are accessible via an internet connection), and full install (full images are download). Remember your personal account information, when there are updates, you may be asked to log in again.
Note: Once in the app, click on the Micromedex Assistant icon (located to the right of the search box) to access IV Drug Compatibility and Drug Interactions. Both may be easier to use by going to the desktop version of Dynamedex. DynaMedex does not currently come with mobile versions of NeoFax and Pediatrics.
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
EndNote App for iOS
Not a Library subscription app. Manage your reference citations easier with EndNote. Note: Endnote does not support Android.
Available: iTunes
Micromedex
2 apps: NeoFax, and Pediatrics. Each app is added separately. Click on the Micromedex link and select "Mobile Application Access" (upper right) for directions on how to install. Note: Must update annually for continued access.
NOTE: Drug Information, Drug Interaction, IV Compatibility are now part of the DynaMedex app or desktop application.
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
New York Times
Courtesy of IUPUI University Library, you can stay connected to the NYTimes!
uCentral Mobile App
Click on the link above, and click on the "sign in" button and register for a free account. Use your newly created account information to unlock the app. Apps include: John Hopkins ABX and HIV Guides, and Calculators.
Available: Google Play Store OR App Store
UpToDate Mobile Apps
***ATTENTION*** The contract with UpToDate will end on 6/30/2024 and will not be renewed. Access to UpToDate through the Library will end on that date.
UpToDate is a point-of-care, physician authored clinical resource. Click on the link above and register (upper right hand corner) for a free account. Then download the app and unlock it with your free account.
Note: Sign in to your account every 90 days through IU to be able to access the app.
Available: Google Store OR App Store
VisualDX Mobile
Build a custom differential diagnosis. Click on the above link, and then click on "Get the Mobile App" button located below the Quick Start Differential Builder (blue bar). Use your newly created account credentials to unlock the app.
Available: Google Store OR App Store

How to Access UpToDate Mobile App

ATTENTION: UpToDate will not be available soon. Please begin using DynaMedex, a comparable resource in its place.

Use UpToDate to find evidence, resources and tools for

Diagnosis
Treatment
Calculators
Drug interactions
and more

Register for an UpToDate account on the website first. Registration link is in the top right corner. Take note of your username and password as you will periodically need to re-sign in

UpToDate ***ATTENTION*** The contract with UpToDate will end on 6/30/2024 and will not be renewed. Access to UpToDate through the Library will end on that date.
***ATTENTION*** The contract with UpToDate will end on 6/30/2024 and will not be renewed. Access to UpToDate through the Library will end on that date.

2. Download mobile app and sign in using your username and password

Google Play: UpToDate
Download from Google Play
Apple: UpToDate
Download from the Apple Store

3. Every 90 days, return to the UpToDate website, and login using your registered account. This confirms you are still with IU