LibGuides: Nursing: Recommended Resources

Drug Guides and Pharmacology

Micromedex
Drug information for health care professionals. Databases included are DRUGDEX, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.
Lexidrug
Formerly Lexicomp. UpToDate Lexidrug provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, and other tools.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion.

Drugs @ FDA (Open Web)
Includes info on FDA approved drugs, including HISTORY OF A DRUG. (Free resource from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
LactMed
Includes information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed as well as levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant

Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)
Explore the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management with Health Business FullTEXT.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.

PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
Premier resource for psychology and related disciplines
DSM Library
Diagnostic manual for psychiatric disorders
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
Social Work Abstracts Plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social Work Abstracts and The Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Family & Society Studies Worldwide database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.

ERIC (EBSCO)
Comprehensive collection of education and related resources
Education Source (EBSCO)
Index of education journals, books, conference papers, book reviews, etc. from early childhood to higher education.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Educational publications covering primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education - 1988-present.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff; Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469855127
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
The site presents a step-by-step approach to patient, current examination techniques, and normal and abnormal findings. Video footage features standardized patients that represent various age groups, backgrounds, and conditions. Includes keyword search for quick access, ability to email a clip, and PDF transcripts.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469893419
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format featuring examination techniques and abnormalities.

Anatomy.TV
Multi-layer graphics of the human body. Includes animated graphical simulations of common muscle movements, information for patients with explanatory text. Movies/animations can be played using Windows Media player, QuickTime, or RealPlayer.
NetAnatomy
An interactive human anatomy resource using images, labels and descriptions, to teach human anatomy to students and as a place to review anatomy for students beginning clinical rotations, USMLE preparation, etc.
Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy
Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a collection of illustrations and clinical images from textbooks such as Gilroy’s Atlas of Anatomy and Thieme Atlas of Anatomy.