The ebooks in the library's ebook systems accessible to the campus can generally be searched and accessed via IUCAT: iucat.iu.edu. Details for physical items such as books and CDs at IU system libraries, which can often be requested for delivery, can also be searched via IUCAT. For more IUCAT search hints, see content box "Find specialized books & ebooks" toward bottom of page.
Individual ebook platforms can provide added features such as full-text searching.
TO BROWSE THE library "STACKS" in person for hardcopy books of interest:
See MUSIC THERAPY books on level 3 from MT 3919 through MT 3920 and on level 4 from RC 489 A7 A68 through RC 489 A7 L54
See MUSIC TECHNOLOGY, including audio engineering and software tools books on level 4 between call numbers TK 7881.3 -- TK 7881.9.
e-Handbooks can be accessed online by searching for the title at IUCAT: iucat.iu.edu. Look for Format: E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis. You can browse options to access, or "Request This" for available Books here or at other campuses to be delivered here for you to pick up, or spot new titles or editions at other campuses that you can request as a purchase for IU Indianapolis. Two search examples:
More IUCAT search examples and strategies, including suggested subject terms, are given below and at content box "Find specialized books & ebooks".
MUSIC TECHNOLOGY E-HANDBOOK Examples
Intelligent Music Production; DeMan; 2018. Access unlimited ebook copies looking for hit with 2018 date, Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis or see options for newer editions of this and DeMan's <The Midi Manual> at other campuses. You can browse, look for newer hardcopy from another campus showing Format Book that could be requested for delivery here or request purchase for IU Indy. See hits shown at IUCAT search.
Modern recording techniques; Huber; 9th ed. 2018. Access unlimited e-copies using the hit for this edition showing Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis and then the Taylor & Frances eBook link accessing hit at IUCAT search.
To see various Owsinsky handbooks, access the IUCAT search. Can access as ebook using items showing Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis for hits at IUCAT search.
Master handbook of acoustics; Everest; 7th ed. 2022. We have a link to purchase in print using "Get this for IU Indy" in print using hit showing Format Book and Copies at Indianapolis or access unlimited e-copies via AccesEngineering using the hit noted as Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis via IUCAT search.
Springer handbook of acoustics; Rossing; 2nd ed. 2014. Access multiple e-copies of this edition using hit showing Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis via IUCAT search.
Music theory for computer musicians, Hewitt; 2008. Access unlimited e-copies of this edition using hit showing Format E-Book and Copies at Indianapolis via IUCAT search. Also see books by author on music education at IUCAT search.
The Information Desk (317-274-0469) can help you find or request hardcopy books, E_Books, CDs, etc. for IU Indy.
Self-service IUCAT tips:
Find IUCAT: iucat.iu.edu. Try combining keywords or keyword phrases.
From the search results page, change the pull-down sort to "Sort by Year (new to old)" for newer hits.
ebooks show as Format: E-Book in your list of hits.
Include setting "Online Only" and limit option "Campus" = Indianapolis to focus on IU Indy accessible ebooks and ejournals.
Use a search hit title hot-link to obtain more details for an item at its IUCAT item page. Look for the campus URL to access an electronic item. For a hard copy, use "Request This" to request an available copy (in "stacks") here or from other campuses; or for Indianapolis items, see the "call number" location code at bottom.
SUGGESTED SUBJECT terms. Consider subject terms listed at the Subject Headings portion of a item page for hits. You can mix words from more than one subject term. More Options are given below. You can use the IUCAT Advanced Search subject to add keywords to various field search boxes.
MUSIC TECHNOLOGY
Sound recordings Production
Popular music Production
Sound Recording and reproducing
Electronic Music
Digital audio editors
Computer Sound Processing
Signal processing Digital techniques
Audio amplifiers
Power amplifiers
Frequency synthesizers
Synthesizer Musical instrument
Books for short-term checkout at Information Desk.
Music Arts Technology-related books in the library's Information Desk STEM reserve collection for short-term checkout are listed below. These books can typically be checked out for 7 days and renewed at the Information Desk. The real-time availability of reserve or other books can be determined by using the IUCAT system at iucat.iu.edu or by calling 317-274-0469.
Patch & tweak with Moog; Bjørn; 2020.
Electronic music and sound design: Theory and practice with Max 7: vol. 1; 3rd ed. 2016. (2 copies)
Electronic music and sound design: Theory and practice with Max 7: vol. 2; 3rd ed. 2016.
The 2022 5th ed, is available for purchase by request: Mixing engineer's handbook; Owsinski.
Signal and power integrity -- simplified; Bogatin; 3rd ed. 2017.
Discrete-time signal processing; Schafer & Oppenheim; 3rd International ed. 2014.
Sample open access resources (OER) are linked at the Open Textbook Library or at the OER Commons.
Also see:
SAMPLE OER RESOURCE SEARCHES
SAMPLE OER ITEMS
