LibGuides: Music &amp; Arts Technology: Find articles, journals, & papers

Finding articles

How to Find Articles in Library Databases: 1) Define your topic ; 2) Break it down - pick out the core concepts ; 3) Identify 1-2 synonyms for each core concept ; 4) Combine keywords with AND, synonyms with OR ; 5) Enter your search phrase in a relevant library database ; 6) Look at results and modify search if necessary

Article & Citation Databases

OneSearch, now available from the library homepage, searches most of the library's resources. For some journals, databases such as EMBASE or Scopus can provide more recent or more numerous citations.

GENERAL, MUSIC and ARTS TECHNOLOGY

Music Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provide a mix of trade journal, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Includes diverse articles relevant to music technology, music therapy, popular music and other topics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a quick, convenient was to access scholarly articles on a topic, but like other resources, is not comprehensive. It's useful in combination with other resources such as Engineering Village, IEEE, etc. If "Find IT at IU Indy" links are not showing, you can set up linking to campus full-text articles. See graphic provided at bottom of this page to manually set up Google Scholar for off-campus use. Database is also a good resource to find a review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage often extends back to the first issue of journals, with an embargo of up to several years of the most recent article content, depending on the journal. Supports keyword searches of the entire resource. Numerous subjects can be searched and can be browsed to see journal titles. For example, see Music, Performing Arts, History of Science & Technology, Health Sciences, Classical Studies, or Education.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3600 peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, more than 8,000 in full-text.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Extensive resource regarding multidisciplinary STEM research articles and conference papers, including healthcare related. A strong resource to search for a specific article or for article citations for a journal, using the FindIt icon at the citation to readily access or request a needed article. Could be used in conjunction with Google Scholar.

Database is also a good resource to find a Research Review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: Limit results to Document type: Review
And/or (the two approaches may pick up some different articles), add to your search expression: and (scoping review or systematic review)
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on music therapy and on music technology applied to healthcare and medical settings.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
See the Thesaurus for general terms such as Auditory Perception, Musical Perception, Music Therapy, and more specific terms.

MUSIC TECHNOLOGY

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Tens of thousands of hits result from keyword search: music or sound. Access the FindIt icon for articles not having full-text available within the database. Browse the Thesaurus to find subject terms for more efficient, relevant search results.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Tens of thousands of hits result from keyword search: music or sound. Provides IT-related articles from the ACM professional society digital library of magazines, journals, and conference papers. A magazines-only search produces numerous hits for readable articles from ACM magazines such as Computers in Entertainment.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Search diverse topics related to mechanical engineering, including thousands of hits for keyword search: music or sound. IU Indy has access to ASME conference papers (proceedings) in addition to articles from over 30 ASME journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search articles on architecture and design. Provides numerous hits for searches such as sound and design. Additional databases on topics in architecture and design are available at: https://iu.libguides.com/art/research/articles
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of hits result from keyword search: music or sounds.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Large resource to search for articles across engineering and technology disciplines. Thousands of hits result for keyword search: music or sound. Browse the Controlled Vocabulary Index (thesaurus) to find subject terms for more efficient, relevant searches. FindIt is often needed to link to or request full-text copies of articles.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Large IT software- and hardware-related digital library from professional societies IEEE and IET. Thousands of hits, many from the resource's extensive conference papers (proceedings), result from keyword search: music or sound. The results of a search can be limited to a type of item, such as conference papers, covering recent technology, or readable magazine articles, providing an overview of a topic to aid in identifying directions for further research.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Switch to Articles search to search and access full-text articles from high quality peer-reviewed open access journals or browse by subject for applied and theoretical topics.

Registry of Open Access Repositories
This is a "meta" search site, searching repositories including IU indianapolis ScholarWorks.
more...less...
This is a "meta" search site, searching scholarly repositories including IU Indianapolis ScholarWorks.
OSF Preprints/
Search entire resource or subject collections using expressions such as music therap*, engineer* and resilien*, etc. Searches engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other print-print resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest)..

Institute of Physics (IOP) This link opens in a new window
Professional society digital library shows "top 500 hits" for keyword searches such as: music or sound, addressing topics such as methods of measuring the power of sound, sound cancellation, sound insulation.

Music and Music Technology Journals

Journals designated with * have direct access to search or browse full-text articles and issues through the present via an online subscription to content provided by the journal's publisher. Some earlier "department" journals and magazines can be searched using a library "article" database.

Use the IUI link on the designated IUCAT page to see resource link options including journal article date ranges, or use the library's eJournal look-up resource.

If a library database does not provide a link to immediate full-text for an article, use the citation's FindIt icon/link to obtain a FindIt popup window to access or request a copy of the article through the library. More details can be seen using the graphic at the bottom of this guide page.

1) Look for an Article (preferred) or Journal link at the top of the FindIt options popup window to link to a campus full-text source for the article.

2) Otherwise, scroll down and use the link to University Library Interlibrary Loan Services, logging in to ILLiad, to send article data directly into a form to request a free copy through the library. Enter your contact details the first time you use ILLiad.

American Music*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then Project MUSE - Premium Collection link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14499409)

Billboard: Search and access selected articles via IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/3725736

Computer Music Journal*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then Project MUSE - Premium Collection link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/12111256

Electronic Musician: Search and access selected articles via IUI IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/11805892

IEEE MultiMedia* magazine: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then IEEE/IET link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/12170519

IEEE Transactions on multimedia*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then IEEE/IET link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14932601

Journal of Music Technology and Education: Search and access selected articles via IUI IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/11902694

Journal of New Music Research: Search and access selected articles via IUI IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14336434

Journal of the Acoustical Society of America*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then Acoustical Society of America Pubs. link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14732236

Journal of the Audio Engineering Society (AES): Search selected articles via database Scopus; request using FindIt

Leonardo Music Journal: Access through 2020 when publication ceased via IUI IUCAT link; then Project MUSE - Premium Collection link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14501163

Music Perception*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then U. of California Press Journals link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14501408

Organised Sound: An international journal of music technology: Search and access selected articles via IUI IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/12176305

Perspectives of New Music*: Subscription access through the present via IUI IUCAT link; then Project Muse All Journals link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/14501880

Teaching music: Search and access selected articles via IUI IUCAT link; see http://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/11157198

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

Detailed description of, "Finding Full Text" diagram

In Google Scholar I Want to Add IU Libraries to My "Library Links"

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that IU Indianapolis Library resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the Find It @ IU Indianapolis Link to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases > Google Scholar (in the Search Box)). You'll be prompted to login with your IU Login, and then you'll see the Find It @ IU Indy links as well.)