Medical Education

This guide provides resources to support those involved with medical education.

Educational Databases

Search strategies for medical education topics vary widely dependent upon the database being used. For suggestions of medical education-related subject words, see the "Subject Word Suggestions" below.

PubMed
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.

Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
International index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
ERIC (EBSCO)
U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.

Subject Word Suggestions

PubMed/Ovid MEDLINE	ERIC	CINAHL
General	General	General
Education subheading (in MeSH Database)	Medical Education	Education subheading (in CINAHL Headings)
Learning	Medical Schools	Medical Education
Medical Education	Hospitals	Education, Health Sciences
Teaching	Clinical Teaching (Health Professions)	Learning
Curriculum	Learning	Curriculum
	Instruction

Educational Methods	Educational Methods	Educational Methods
Competency-Based Education	Educational Methods	Models, Educational
Distance Education	Educational Practices	Competency-Based Education
Patient Simulation	Teaching Methods	Learning Methods
Problem-Based Learning		Teaching Methods

Assessment	Assessment	Assessment
Educational Measurement	Educational Assessment	Evaluation
Needs Assessment	Medical Care Evaluation	Evaluation Research
Self-Evaluation Programs	Curriculum Evaluation
Evaluation Studies	Student Evaluation

Student Groups	Student Groups	Student Groups
Education, Medical, Continuing	Graduate Medical Education	Students, Medical
Education, Medical, Graduate	Graduate Medical Students	Education, Medical, Continuing
Education, Medical, Undergraduate	Clinical Experience	Physicians
Clinical Clerkship	Medical Students
Internship and Residency	Physicians

Ruth Lilly Medical Library

Get Help

Medical Education

Educational Databases

Subject Word Suggestions