LibGuides: Finding Data and Statistics: Data Repositories

Indexes (lists of data sources)

These resources can help you browse and search the hundreds of subject and institutional repositories or archives across the world.

re3data.org Registry of Research Data Repositories
global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Data Repositories (Open Access Directory)
Disciplinary Repositories (Open Access Directory)
Current Index to Statistics
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields.

Institutional Repositories of Data

This is a very brief list of institutional data repositories to give you an idea of the wide variety of data available from these resources.

IUPUI DataWorks
IUPUIDataWorks is a repository for preserving and sharing IUPUI digital research data. It is a place to make research data available for other researchers to find and use. IUPUIDataWorks is also a tool enabling researchers to meet funding agency requirements for data preservation and sharing.
Odum Institute Data Archive
The Odum Institute data holdings include national and international economic, electoral, demographic, financial, health, public opinion and other types of data to meet a variety of research and teaching needs. Data from studies conducted by UNC-Chapel Hill faculty and research groups are also available.
PURR: Purdue University Research Repository
The Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) provides an online, collaborative working space and data-sharing platform to support the data management needs of Purdue researchers and their collaborators.

Subject Repositories of Data

Subject repositories typically have a disciplinary or topical focus. Examples include the National Center for Biotechnology Information GenBank, dbGaP, and Minnesota Population Center are all subject repositories. For a more comprehensive list of repositories, see the Re3Data Index.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data for research and instruction.
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new window
Public opinion data from U.S. and international sources, 1935-present.

NOTE: You must login as Indiana University in order to access full results. You may register for an account by using your IU email address @iu.edu

Minnesota Population Center
The Minnesota Population Center (MPC) is a University-wide interdisciplinary cooperative for demographic research. The MPC serves more than 80 faculty members and research scientists from eight colleges and institutes at the University of Minnesota.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice data and original research based on archived data.