LibGuides: PBHL-S349 Research Methods in Community Health: Scientific Literature

Databases to Find Scholarly Articles

Public health information tends to be multi-disciplinary, meaning you'll often need to search several databases geared toward different disciplines. For example, if you are designing a program to educate families about the signs and symptoms of depression, you may end up searching PubMed or Medline (biomedical), PsycINFO (psychology), ERIC (education), and Family Studies Abstracts (sociology).

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Family Studies Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of literature of areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IU Indy links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.
ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
Core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Find articles on a wide variety of topics related to psychology and the workplace, such as training, communication, motivation, retention, and sales.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information on the fields of social work and human services, 1977-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Sociology
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.