Clinical Resources @ IUSD

The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by American Dental Association Staff; Lauren L. Patton (Editor) With new medications, medical therapies, and increasing numbers of older and medically complex patients seeking dental care, all dentists, hygienists, and students need to understand the background of common diseases, medical management, and dental management to coordinate and deliver safe care. Written by more than 25 academicians and clinicians who are experts in the content areas, the evidence-based Practical Guide from the American Dental Association takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Systems-based, user-friendly format to save you time!  Each chapter of this Practical Guide discusses individual conditions clearly organized under three headings: background, medical management, and dental management  Other sections include: disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician Key features that make this a must-have book: Coverage of clinical topics including: Cardiovascular Disease, Pulmonary Disease, Endocrine Disorders, Bleeding Disorders, Neurologic Disorders, Neurodevelopmental and Psychiatric Disorders, Geriatric Health and Functional Issues, Neurodevelopmental and Psychiatric Disorders, HIV/AIDS and Related Conditions and much more Identification of risks related to hemostasis, susceptibility to infection, drug actions/interactions, and ability to tolerate dental care, specific to the patient's medical condition More than 200 clinical images ? which you can downloaded from the book's website! Over 75 summary tables to help you digest vital information Quick reference points and guides to key dental care issues in each chapter  Companion website with downloadable images and tables and a webliography with click-through links to online sources at www.wiley.com/go/patton Help your patients improve their oral and overall health. Order today! You can purchase a print copy of this book directly from the American Dental Association.

Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry by Stephen J. Stefanac; Samuel P. Nesbit Develop your skills in evaluation and dental treatment planning for all types of patients! Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 3rd Edition provides a full-color guide to creating treatment plans based on a comprehensive patient assessment. Using evidence-based research, this book shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. New chapters cover patient diagnosis and team-based treatment planning, and a new Evolve website includes videos, case scenarios, and decision-making algorithms. Written by experienced dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this book is the only dental resource that combines patient examination and oral diagnosis with treatment planning. Clear, logical organization builds your understanding with sections on comprehensive patient evaluation, key treatment planning concepts, a detailed review of the five phases of planning treatment and guidelines for selecting the appropriate plan of care, and care planning for patients with special needs. In Clinical Practice boxes highlight situations that may be faced by the general dentist. What's the Evidence? boxes cite research articles affecting clinical decision-making and treatment planning strategies. Ethics in Dentistry boxes address ethical issues you may encounter in treatment planning. Review exercises in each chapter let you apply concepts to clinical practice. Expert authors and contributors provide a current, authoritative resource for effective treatment planning. Key Terms and a Glossary highlight and define important terminology. Evidence-based coverage demonstrates how to use research and clinical evidence in making treatment planning decisions. NEW Common Diagnoses in Dentistry chapter provides guidelines to making an accurate patient diagnosis prior to beginning treatment. NEW Interprofessional Treatment Planning chapter describes dental care in the context of a team-based collaborative approach, so that the dental treatment plan aligns with the overall treatment goals of the patient. NEW! Full-color photographs illustrate clinical principles and pathologies, and a colorful design highlights key content. UPDATED content reflects advances in dental techniques, materials, and patient treatment options based on research, clinical experience, and current literature. NEW resources on an Evolve website include videos, case-based scenarios, and decision-making algorithms.

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2023!  Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine.  Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease.  Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for:  * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition:  * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms

Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by Craig Miller; Nelson L. Rhodus; Nathaniel S. Treister; Eric T. Stoopler; Alexander Ross Kerr Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 10th Edition, is thoroughly revised to provide the information needed to assess common problems and make safe dental management decisions. This new edition contains revised content on Cancer and Women's Health and includes an enhanced ebook plus patient-based practice questions with print purchase. Also, each chapter features informative illustrations and well-organized tables to provide you with in-depth details and overall summaries required for understanding and applying medical concepts in dentistry. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. UPDATED! Information correlating to the revised INBDE exam prepares you for the boards. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase. The ebook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Plus, patient-based questions are included. UPDATED! Revised coverage of Women's Health addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management. NEW! Completely revised chapter on Cancer discusses essential considerations for the oral care of these patients. NEW! Key Points at the beginning of each chapter highlight important content to guide study efforts.

Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by Paul Brunton (As told to); John D. Da Silva; David A. Mitchell; Laura Mitchell Written by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks in Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offer up-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care. These books will be invaluable resources for residents and students, as well as a useful reference for practitioners. The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry is a dependable manual geared for ultra-quick reference at any time. Part of the worldwide best-selling series, this book provides much more information than a standard handbook in the field. Thin and light, it uses concise, bulleted text, quick reference tabs, four color presentation, and bookmark ribbons to help provide fast answers on the ward. It is ideal for students, residents and anyone wanting a succinct, comprehensive, and affordable volume in the proven format of the Oxford Handbook Series.

Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management by Stanley F. Malamed Combining essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction, this concise guide is the leading reference for basic techniques in sedation and anxiety control in the dental office. The latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists keep you up-to-date with the latest medical standards. Content on patient management for pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients helps you successfully treat any patient population. In-depth discussions of the pharmacology of commonly used sedative agents allow you to fully understand properties and characteristics of drugs used. Combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction Boxes and tables highlight key information and make it easy to find important content. Chapter 40-Legal Considerations includes the current liability standards for patient treatment to help you protect yourself and your patients. Chapter 41-The Controversial Development of Anesthesiology in Dentistry focuses on the growing controversies, legal and otherwise, from both without and within the profession. Updated patient management procedures provide the most current guidelines on everything from AHA CPR standards to the safest sedative procedures. Full-color art program shows anatomy and other important concepts in vibrant detail. Photos of the newest sedation and emergency equipment ensure you have the latest information on developments in the field.