LibGuides: Organizational Leadership: Purdue Indy Resources: Find articles, ebooks, etc.

Find articles & ebooks: Selected Purdue Resources

Early-on; explore directions for research

Databases listed just below can help you explore and focus your topic and potential solutions.

Find concise, practical trade journal articles and readable magazine articles using ProQuest Research Library. Find readable, especially credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing topics and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and ACM and limiting to magazine articles. Other resources such as news, business, or ebook collections can help provide context or additional detail on a topic.

Purdue Libraries ebook search
Search hits include ebooks from O'Reilly, Springer, Wiley, and EBSCO. At the Purdue Libraries Advanced Search page, enter a search expression. Switch the Material Type setting from All Items to Books. Do the search. Then at left, select filter option Show Only to Available Online. For many STEM topics, it's helpful to change Sort by from Relevance to Date-newest.
NexisUni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis -- including US Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus
...provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources... well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
O'Reilly Online Learning
O'Reilly Online Learning is an on-demand digital library providing access to more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video regarding technology, digital media, business, and more.
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable full-text of more than 150 reference books published by Oxford University Press on many subjects in the arts, history, and sciences. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and several of the Oxford Companion series.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Getting Started with Web of Science Database Tutorial

Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers

Try focusing on two or three core article databases resources listed below in this box, testing several search strategies to find the most relevant articles.

Business Source Complete
An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
Environmental Studies
Alternate Name(s) GREENR; Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Google Scholar
SEE upper "How do I?" site regarding remote access to Purdue e-resources if you use this Purdue link to Google Scholar (GS), but still don''t see "Full Text at Purdue" links in GS search results.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. With over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and the arts and humanities.

Database is a good resource to find a Research Review article addressing the state of knowledge on a topic. Hint: Limit results to Document type: Review
And/or (the two approaches may pick up some different articles), add to your search expression: and systematic review
Web of Science: All Databases
Easily search across all subscribed products simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results Including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB eBooks Archive, CABI, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, FSTA-the food science resource, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Preprint Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
OSF Preprints
Open resource searching engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other preprint resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest).

Browse Purdue Libraries Services and Specialized Guides

Purdue University Research/Resource Course Guide: ECET 380: Project Management
Purdue Uniaversity Research/Resource Subject guide: Business Law
Purdue U. Research and User Guides & Tutorials
Home | Purdue Libraries
Browse upper tabs FIND, SERVICE, and HELP, for options such as: find books and other Purdue University resources, request an item by Interlibrary Loan, Suggest a Purchase, or quickly consult a Purdue Librarian (Ask a Librarian).
See how the Purdue Libraries support Purdue Indy

Purdue University Indy students and staff are expected to be able to access Purdue University resources at any time from anywhere and set Google Scholar to show links to Purdue full-text by following instructions at page.

Purdue University Indy students and staff will be able to access almost all University Library electronic resources (campus databases and direct access full-text content), but only within University Library.

Standards/Codes

Orientation to standards; Purdue Libraries TOOLs and COLLECTIONS of STANDARDS

Purdue Libraries page: Basic Information: Databases for identifying standards
Find resources to determine what standard you may need. Browse additional resource sites such as Indiana Codes, International Codes, etc.

Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs); browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS

Four standards in human resources management released.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Technical Committee 260: “A new series of ISO standards aims to help not only improve the recruitment process, but improve businesses through better human resource processes.”
Resources: Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs)
US government site
Browse and view Standards Incorporated by Reference (IBR) from ANSI and More
Please note that "...you will need to install a File Open plug-in onto your computer to open and read these files." See links at the top of the FAQ page.
This site supports browsing read-only resources for a wide-ranging group of "IBR Standards hosted by ANSI". IBR Standards are incorporated by reference in the U.S Code of Federal Regulations. Scroll down further to "Standards hosted by SDOS".
Standards.gov: Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their Standards
Browse resources to view or download from a wide variety of standards developing organizations such as Broadband Forum (including cloud computing); ECMA (including consumer electronics, IoT, programming languages, media, storage..." ); IMS Global Learning Consortium; ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee (including standards for topics such as security, computer graphics, and data); The Internet Society.
Conformity assessment
US government site

Resources at University Library not available via Purdue Libraries

These resources are not available through the Purdue Libraries. These and other University Library resources can be accessed only by using a University Library-coded link when within the library.

Skillport 8i This link opens in a new window
Using a library link to Books24x7 and signing in via an IU login popup window, is REQUIRED to start each session. The University Library has access to the following collections: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary ebook resource.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated engineering reference information including standards-related and material properties materials. SEARCH HINT: to see options related to a broad term such as material properties, enter a related keyword into the search box such as composite; or materials; or strength.

IUCAT
In IUCAT, you can search across platforms for books, ebooks, ejournals, audio-visual materials, and government documents held at University Library. Limit to Campus = Indianapolis and add upper left limit option "Online only" to see e-resources such as ebooks and ejournals available to Purdue-affiliated library users when within the library.
Guide to using University Library ebooks
Addresses details such as if/how an ebook on a particular vender platform can be downloaded.