When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.
Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Journal Title:Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.
If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.
Background
University Library subscribes to hundreds of article indexing databases which are available to you on campus or from home once you have logged in with your user ID and password. These databases are important because they allow to search for articles by keyword, topic, title, author, etc. Remember, a library catalog such as IUCAT will allow you to search for journal titles, but will not allow you to search for specific articles within the journal.
Search Tips
To find out which databases are most likely to have the kinds of articles that will be helpful to you, check the "Database Descriptions", "Title List", or other "information" or "about" options available in a particular database. See the section below on Suggested Databases for History specific databases.
Before you start entering any search terms, spend a few minutes trying to think of as many relevant terms and combinations of terms as you can. This will help you to avoid getting stuck in a rut with the first terms that come to mind.
If you need help in coming up with terms, you may want to try the databases' "Thesaurus" or "Subject Headings" features.
Check out the "Help" or "Search Tips" to learn some of the search features specific to that database. Most databases provide similar features, but the methods may vary.
Try the databases' Advanced Search feature, which usually gives you the ability to search multiple fields (author, title, keyword, subject, etc) with one search and may offer additional ways to expand or limit your search.
If your first search strategy does not work, try another approach. Remember, too, that you can ask for Reference Help.
The following databases a variety of material type including academic articles, popular articls from magazines and newspapers, encyclopedic entries, book reviews, dissertations, and sometimes even books. The most common indexed type is article.
When not on the IU Network or using a computer on campus, you can use the library website or the IUPUI EZProxy bookmarklet to check for a library subscription to specific content. Learn more about the EZProxy service.
Use the IUPUI EZProxy bookmarklet when you are on a website where there is a paywall and you are being asked to pay to access full text. After selecting the bookmarklet and logging in through IU Login, you will gain full text access if IUPUI has a subscription. But if IUPUI does not subscribe to the resource, the page will refresh without any changes or it may take you to an error page. Explore interlibrary loan services to get access to articles, books, and other items IUPUI does not have.
The bookmarklet needs to be added as a bookmark to your browser. Follow the installation steps below based on the browser you're using. Once added, the next time you find yourself being asked to purchase an article, select the bookmark in your browser's bookmark toolbar to see if IUPUI provides full text access. The video shows bookmarklet installation steps for Firefox and suggests best practices for accessing subscription based content.
Drag this link to your Favorites toolbar: IUPUI Library EZProxy link
Note: In the latest versions of the Mac OS, the Favorites bar is hidden by default. If you do not see the Favorites bar just below the URL, above the web page content, go to the View menu in Safari and select "Show Favorites Bar."
Right-click on the following link, then select the "Bookmark This Link" option: IUPUI Library Proxy Bookmarklet
Right-click on this link: IUPUI Library Proxy Bookmarklet
Select the "Add to Favorites..." option. You may be warned that you are adding a link which may be unsafe. While some links like this may be unsafe, we believe this one is safe. You can click whichever option is required to continue.
Although Edge does not allow you to drag-and-drop a bookmarklet as do Chrome or Safari, if you have the bookmarklet in a different browser, you can import your bookmarks into Edge. You may need to delete duplicate or unwanted bookmarks after you have done so.
*** this is hidden text to get proper spacing***
The bookmarklet will attempt to proxy any website, whether we license that content or not. If you receive a “Remote Access Error” when you use the bookmarklet on a URL, the most common reasons are:
