LibGuides: History Research Guide: Home

Student Services

Hello, I'm Bill Orme, your Librarian. I am happy to assist with all your history and American Studies research needs. Please don't hesitate to contact me. My contact information is on the left side of this guide.

How I can help:

One-on-one research assistance in person, via phone, email
Topic development
IUCAT search assistance
Database search assistance
Help finding primary resources
Overall research process organization
Citation style assistance

Faculty Services

Classroom Instruction

Research guides and information sessions tailored to your class
General information literacy/research help sessions
Topic selection
Primary vs. secondary resource
How to find book reviews
Scholarly vs. popular resources
How to search IUCAT for beginners and the more advanced researcher
Search strategies for article indexing databases
Search strategies for primary resources
Referral for student one-on-one research assistance

Research Consultations

You are the expert in your area of research but I may be able to offer insight on search strategies in new information sources. Please don't hesitate to let me know what you are working on. I'm happy to meet with Graduate Assistants that are supporting your research efforts. Additionally, If I know what you are working on, I keep this in mind while making purchases for the library.

Library Resource Purchasing

Never hesitate to request purchases of books, films, audio, databases, journals, etc. I can't guarantee fulfillment of every request but I try very hard to purchase material that will be of most use to your research and our students' research.

Scholarly Output Sharing and Preservation

University Library supports a variety of mechanisms for sharing and preserving your published, unpublished scholarly output as well as the primary resource materials (datasets, photos, historic documents, etc.) collected during your research. Check out the IUPUI University Library Center for Digital Scholarship to learn more about the following services and opportunities:

Open Journals at IUPUI
In support of open access to research, University Library supports the Open Journal System which manages the full journal publication process from article submission, review, editing, and publishing.
Cultural Heritage Digital Collections
University Library supports digitization, description, and online access of cultural heritage and primary resource research collections. These collections often come about through partnerships with local community organizations such as the Indiana Historical Society, Indianapolis Speedway, and Indiana Landmarks Foundation. Also supported are faculty contributed collections such as the Irish People newspaper from Dr. Bob White of the School of Liberal Arts, The British Intelligencer from Dr. Jason Kelly of the Department of History, Tiananmen Square, 1989 from Dr. Edgar Huang of the School of Informatics, and Neighborhood of Saturdays from Dr. Susan Hyatt of the Department of Anthropology.
IUPUI Data Support Resources
Manage and archive data.
IUPUI Digital Scholarship Fund
If you are an IUPUI faculty member and have or know of a unique collection that would contribute to scholarly research and/or instruction, University Library has grants to support the digitization, description, and online access of such collections.
IUPUI Open Access Publishing Fund
Fund to support author fees required by some journals for publishing an openly accessible article in that journal.

IUPUI ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
IUPUI's institutional repository, housing faculty, student and community scholar works.

	Find Us: https://iu.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUILibrary
	Like Us: IUI University Library
	Follow Us: @IUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian