Philanthropy and Nonprofit Management

"The Council on Foundations’ Career Center contains the largest source of nonprofit jobs in the nation. It’s where nonprofit professionals go to find the right jobs and where employers go to find the highest quality talent. The Council Career Center connects employers with thousands of highly engaged nonprofit professionals, including Council members, nonmembers, and institutions."

Hub for nonprofit jobs, internships, and volunteer postings

PND's job board provides listings of current full-time job openings at U.S. nonprofits, foundations, and institutions of higher education.

"The Center for Civic Reflection’s mission is to build community, deepen understanding, and strengthen commitment to civic life by helping people, communities and organizations think and talk about the meaning, value and impact of their work in the world."

"The Johns Hopkins Center for Civil Society Studies is a leading source of ground-breaking research and knowledge about the nonprofit sector, social investing, and the tools of government. The Center conducts research and educational programs that seek to improve current understanding, analyze emerging trends, and promote promising innovations in the ways that government, civil society, and business can collaborate to address social and environmental challenges."

"The Center for Strategic Philanthropy and Civil Society (CSPCS) researches, analyzes, and promotes philanthropy that consistently produces high impact. CSPCS stimulates communication, collaboration, and problem-solving around pressing issues of public policy and philanthropy."

"The Community Tool Box is a free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. It offers thousands of pages of tips and tools for taking action in communities."

Resources for leadership development. "Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy (EPIP) is a project of Tides, is a national network of changemakers who strive for excellence and equity in the practice of philanthropy."

K-12 teaching resources. "Grounded in academics and linked to real life, Learning to Give lessons and resources apply from kindergarten through high school. Our mission is to provide quality, inspirational, and field tested tools to help K-12 teachers educate, equip, and empower their students to be giving and caring citizens."

Full text access to work completed by students of the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy.

Membership association of university and college based centers that study philanthropy, nonprofit management, and voluntarism. Provides curriculum guidelines for graduate and undergraduate programs.

Database of educational organizations currently teaching philanthropy and nonprofit management, searchable by state, degree, and alphabetically.

"Our mission is to increase the effectiveness of the individuals, groups and organizations that help nonprofits and communities achieve positive social change. We create spaces for professional dialogue and learning by amplifying research in the field and promoting its implications for effective practice."

"The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) is the U.S.-based, national and international association that connects scholars, teachers, and practice leaders interested in research on nonprofit organizations, voluntary action, philanthropy and civil society. Founded in 1971 as the Association of Voluntary Action Scholars, ARNOVA is a neutral, open forum committed to strengthening the research about and helping shape better practice in these realms."

International membership organization of trade and professional associations, individual membership organizations, and voluntary organizations

Serves the fundraising profession through advocacy, research, education, and certification programs

"Candid was born February 1, 2019, when Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces. Through research, collaboration, and training, we connect nonprofits, foundations, and individuals to the resources they need to do good."

"The Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy (CNP) conducts and disseminates research on the role and impact of nonprofit organizations and philanthropy." Home of the National Center for Charitable Statistics

"Founded in 2001, Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities. In our quest to help donors, our team of professional analysts has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. We've used this knowledge to develop an unbiased, objective, numbers-based rating system to assess over 9,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities."

Information about national service programs

Professional association serving advancement professionals at educational institutions. IUPUI affiliates are eligible for member accounts.

"An active philanthropic network, the Council on Foundations, founded in 1949, is a nonprofit leadership association of grantmaking foundations and corporations."

"Funders for LGBTQ Issues works to increase the scale and impact of philanthropic resources aimed at enhancing the well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer communities, promoting equity, and advancing racial, economic and gender justice. Funders for LGBTQ Issues is a network of more than 75 foundations, corporations, and funding institutions that collectively award more than $1 billion annually, including approximately $100 million specifically devoted to LGBTQ issues."

"The Giving Institute consists of member organizations that have embraced and embodied the core values of ethics, excellence, and leadership in advancing philanthropy. Serving clients of every size and purpose, from local institutions to international organizations, The Giving Institute member organizations embrace the highest ethical standards and maintain a strict code of fair practices. The Giving Institute is also the parent organization of the Giving USA Foundation™, which endeavors to advance philanthropy through research and education and produces the annual report on charitable giving in the United States, Giving USA: The Annual Report on Philanthropy. "

"Our nonpartisan coalition of approximately 600 organizations leads, strengthens, and mobilizes the nonprofit and philanthropic community in order to fulfill our vision of a just and inclusive society and a healthy democracy of active citizens, effective institutions, and vibrant communities"

Formerly the National Committee on Planned Giving. "The National Association of Charitable Gift Planners (CGP) is the leading organization setting standards for charitable gift planners. We bring members together to learn, connect and advocate. We provide education and resources that enrich and advance careers. We connect colleagues at all levels through our national network—including those who defined the field. We exist to serve our distinguished profession and bring to life the art and science of charitable gift planning."

Research on the legal issues of charitable organizations. Curriculum, research, conferences, library, bibliography, fellowships, placement, faculty development.

Has served as the watchdog of US foundations. Also actively promotes diversity in workplace fundraising and the development of alternative giving funds.

Mission is "to advance the vital role, capacity, and voice of charitable nonprofit organizations through our state and national networks."

"The Philanthropy Roundtable is America’s leading network of charitable donors working to strengthen our free society, uphold donor intent, and protect the freedom to give. Our members include individual philanthropists, families, and private foundations."

Supports the efforts of foundations, nonprofits, social enterprises, and public-private partnerships that are seeking solutions to societal problems

"The Rockefeller Archive Center is a major repository and research center for the study of philanthropy and its impact throughout the world. In addition to the papers of the Rockefeller family, the RAC's collections include the records of the Rockefeller Foundation, Ford Foundation, Near East Foundation, Commonwealth Fund, Rockefeller Brothers Fund, Henry Luce Foundation, W. T. Grant Foundation and many other philanthropic organizations."

Database of US government grants. A product of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Information for the legal requirements for nonprofits in the US.

Connects donors to causes and provides operating assistance to charities

Global alliance of civil society organizations

"Our core work is giving a voice to independent funders at the level of the European Union and global levels and providing our members with critical legal and fiscal guidance and knowledge"

Information on philanthropy in the Asia and Pacific region.

Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world.

"It is our mission to support and strengthen charities and nonprofits so they can, in turn, support the Canadians and communities they serve"

Serves as a resource for civil society leaders, government officials, and the donor community internationally

Membership organization whose mission is "building a global scholarly community with an international and comparative focus on civil society, the nonprofit sector, and philanthropy." Website has conference/working papers; conference information; doctoral seminar.

"The largest umbrella body for the voluntary and community sector in England"

Membership organization of "trusts and foundations, families and individuals who want to make a difference through their own philanthropy and to encourage others to become philanthropists"

Promotes collaboration among Arab civil society organizations through exchange of information, capacity building, and providing space for research and publication

"Israeli Center for Third Sector Research (ICTR )was established at the Ben- Gurion University of the Negev in 1997 in order to conduct and promote Academic Research and study on Civil Society, the Third Sector, and related fields in Israel. ICTR is a multi- and inter-disciplinary center serving researchers and students from academic disciplines, universities and colleges."

By its charter, the Islamic Development Bank (IDB) is mandated to foster socioeconomic development of its member countries and Muslim communities in non-member countries, in accordance with the principles of Shariah (Islamic Law).

"The Islamic Development Bank Institute (IsDBI) is the knowledge beacon of the Islamic Development Bank Group. Guided by the principles of Islamic economics and finance, the Institute is mandated to lead the development of innovative knowledge-based solutions to support the sustainable economic advancement of the 57 IsDB Member Countries and various Muslim communities worldwide."

The Centre promotes voluntary giving and serving in Pakistan.