LibGuides: Biology: Finding Peer Review Articles

Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is the Professional journal abstract for the Biological Sciences. BIOSIS Previews is the online version of Biological Abstracts.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index to articles covering all aspects of medicine. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Having trouble accessing the full text of an article? Read below.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
International index of articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Includes info from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing. 1946-present.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary periodical index. The scope includes general sciences, applied sciences, allied health, medicine and more.
General Science Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The General Science Abstracts is an exceptional periodical index for undergraduate research.

Open Access Journals

PLoS Journals (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals including original research and feature articles.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
IUPUI ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
The scholarly output of IUPUI. Includes preprints, theses and dissertations, conference papers, student capstone projects, faculty-created learning objects, data sets, etc.

Citation Index

Use this unique index to identify scholarly journal articles referenced by other researchers.

Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. A database in Web of Science. Coverage 1987-present.

Review Journals

These specialized journals provide access current news, developments and trends in the field.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Including Annual Review of Plant Biology and Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics.

Trends in Cell Biology

Current Awareness

These sources provide the table of contents to numerous journal titles on a weekly basis. They are published in seven editions covering the life sciences, biology, chemistry, medicine, engineering, social sciences, and humanities. One example is:

Current Contents Connect (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
A database in the Web of Knowledge, Current Contents Connect includes complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals and books; also includes relevant, evaluated Web sites and documents. Available editions: Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences (1998-Present) and Life Sciences (1998-Present).