This page provides an overview of different types of reference sources you might encounter. Sources listed here are just examples. To find additional sources, search IUCAT (our catalog) - below.
These specialized guides and bibliographies aid students and reference staff in identifying specific sources as well as navigating the literature. One example is:
Information Sources in Science and Technology by Use specialized dictionaries to identify terms, clarify jargon and otherwise become familiar with the language of biology. Some examples are listed below:
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical DictionarySpecialized subject encyclopedias provide an overview of a topic, familiarize the user with issues names and dates associated with it, and identify additional materials published on the topic, such as, journal articles. Some examples are listed below:
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by 
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and TechnologyThese references are annual up-dates and compilations of general or specialized information. One example is:
The World Almanac and Book of FactsUse this material to locate information on one or more topics conveniently arranged. Handbooks are comprehensive in scope, condensed in treatment, and provide charts, tables, graphs and glossaries. Most handbooks are compiled by subject experts and may be intended for the amateur or professional. Some examples are:
Histories for most research inquires can be obtained in the aforementioned reference books. However, histories on a give subject discuss the main facts and individuals in its development, and contain bibliographic references. Some examples are:
History of Science, History of Text by 
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by This reference source is used to locate brief information on an individual scientist. Biographies generally include vital statistics and significant contributions. For lengthier biographies, such as books or biographical encyclopedias, consult the online card catalog. Some examples are:
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists by 
Notable Women in the Physical Sciences by This specialized reference addresses the taxonomic classification of organisms. Some examples are:
Classification of Mammals by 
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organism
