LibGuides: Thinking Outside the "Box": Commodity Research

Commodities

Major Commodity Exchanges

Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME)
aka "the Merc". A financial and commodity derivative exchange based in Chicago, Ill.
Minneapolis Grain Exchange

Other Commodity Resources Online

Commodity Flow Survey
The Commodity Flow Survey (CFS) is the primary source of national and state-level data on domestic freight shipments by American establishments in mining, manufacturing, wholesale, auxiliaries, and selected retail and services trade industries. Data are provided on the types, origins and destinations, values, weights, modes of transport, distance shipped, and ton-miles of commodities shipped. The CFS is a shipper-based survey and is conducted every five years as part of the Economic Census.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Statistics
Compiles information on global commodity markets in agriculture, beverage, energy, metal, and mineral sectors.
USDA Agricultural Marketing Service: Market News
Provides data including prices and volume in both domestic and international markets for cotton, dairy, fruits & vegetables, livestock, poultry & grain, tobacco, and local/regional foods.
US Energy Information Administration: Daily Prices
Daily wholesale and retail prices for various energy products, including spot prices and select futures prices at national or regional levels. Prices are updated each weekday (excluding federal holidays), typically between 7:30 and 8:30 a.m.
US Energy Information Administration: OpenData API - BETA
Provides access to government datasets as well as tools for data visualization. Note that this is in Beta so there may be programming errors.
USGS Minerals Information: Commodity Stastics
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
Wall Street Journal Commodity Market Center
Data on prices. If you want WSJ analysis - find full text in Factiva or ABI Inform.
The World Bank: Commodity Markets
Commodity prices, forecasts, and reports including the monthly (the Pink Sheet), monthly, and annual data.

Database Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business database of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry, market, and country profiles. Also contains news (from global to local) of advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, industry, finance, taxation, and management topics.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research, industry risk rating reports, and business environment reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data on a variety of disciplines. Data points presented in multiple formats including reports, graphs, infographics, and PowerPoint slides.

[The database resources are all subscription resources and link back to the subscribing library. If you copy, please make sure you update the links as appropriate for your institution.]

Bloomberg

Bloomberg Professional Service
In library use only.

The Bloomberg database provides to access to valuable information for managing purchasing or procurement including news, economic statistics, commodity pricing, futures markets, and other tools useful for analyzing the supply chain.

Procurement & Supply Chain Cheat Sheet

Commodity Reference Books

The cmdty Commodity Yearbook 2019 (Formerly CRB Commodity Yearbook) by Richard Asplund; Christopher Lown (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: HC14 .C7 2019
ISBN: 9780910418072
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
The essential commodity reference for analysts, traders, and portfolio managers Commodities can play an important role in a portfolio. The single most comprehensive source of commodity and futures market information available, the Yearbook is the book of record for the cmdty, a division of Barchart.com, which is, in turn, the organization of record for the commodity industry itself. It sources authoritative reports from governments, private industries, and trade and industrial associations and its provides historical scope.