How to Research in the Archives

Email IU Indianapolis Special Collections and Archives: speccoll@iu.edu

Before you visit, please send us an email stating your name, your research interest(s), what records you are interested in (including box numbers from the finding aid if you know specifics), and what day(s) you plan to visit. 

Please make an appointment at least 24 hours in advance. This allows us time to pull materials for you and send you basic information on our rules, where to park, campus maps, etc.

When you walk into Special Collections for your appointment, there will be a staff member stationed at the reference desk.  They are there to answer any questions you may have!

This staff member will direct you to the cart that contains the boxes/books pulled for you and have you fill out a Research Information Sheet.  On this sheet, you'll list your name, email, affiliation, and research subject, as well as agree to policies on the use of archival materials. Our Archives User Polices are also available to review on this LibGuide (see below for full list). The staff member will also help you locate storage spaces for your personal items during your visit.

Although Special Collections is housed within the University Library, our materials are not circulated, meaning you can’t check items out.  This is due to how historic and rare our materials are, but also to help improve the longevity of our collections.  

Reference Room Regulations

1. All researchers must fill out and sign the User Agreement form to use the Archives. 
2. No eating or drinking is permitted in the reading room for the preservation of historic materials.
3. Aside from the archival research materials you are currently using, the only materials allowed in the reading room are:
   • personal notebooks
   • pencils (mechanical or wooden)
   • headphones or earbuds
   • digital cameras
   • cell phones, tablets, or laptop computers
   • any adaptive or assistive equipment such as canes, walkers, etc. 
4. All other belongings can be stored by the Archives Reference Desk or in lockers by the entrance on the first floor.  
5. Coats and jackets are not allowed in the Archives Reference Room.  
6. The Archives staff has the right to inspect any materials taken in or removed from the Archives Reading Room for security purposes.

Use of Materials Regulations

1. Use pencil only in taking handwritten notes.
   • Laptop computers may be used.
2. Only one box/book can be viewed in the Archives Reference Room at a time.
   • When done with one box/book, you can switch it out for another on your designated cart.
3. Handle all materials with care and retain the order of papers within a folder or box.
   • An out card will be provided when removing individual folders.
4. When viewing photographs, gloves must be worn to protect the photographs.
5. When viewing fragile books, certain precautions need to be taken including the use of gloves and book cradles.
6. Generally, archival material may be photocopied; however, if such material is too fragile, requests for photocopies may be denied.
   • Please mark documents for photocopying by placing a strip of acid-free paper (provided by the Archives Staff) in front of the documents to be copied.
   • Do not remove the documents from the individual folders.
   • Archives staff will make photocopies for a fee.
7. Photographs can be taken with a phone or camera for personal use.
   • Contact us regarding copyright for possible professional use.
8. If you find any damaged material or believe there are missing items within a folder, please alert the Archives Staff.

1. Take Notes 

• When you come across an item of interest in a collection, jot down information so you may return to look at the item at a later date.
• This could include a Folder Title, Box Number, and Collection Name/Record Number.

2. Take Photographs

• We encourage our users to take photographs so they may refer back to an item when working outside of the archives, such as at home or in the classroom.

3. Use Out Cards

• We will provide you with out cards to mark your spot in a box when removing a folder and to help keep all archival documents in their correct order when researching.

4. Ask For Help! 

• If you have any question or need some clarity about a document in a collection, please let us know!