LibGuides: Anthropology: 2: Find Materials

Find Articles

General Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database including scholarly and popular articles, market reports, and newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.

Anthropology Resources

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
See Annual Review of Anthropology.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of materials from the late 1800s-present in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources detailing the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th-20th centuries.

Find Open Access Articles

Open Access lock logo. Open access (OA) means unrestricted on-line access to peer-reviewed scholarly research. Open access is primarily intended for scholarly journal articles, but is also provided for a growing number of theses, book chapters, and scholarly monographs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_access

Society for Cultural Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology publishes articles that represent anthropological research, critical analysis, and academic writing of the very highest order.

Find Statistics

General Statistics & Data

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey is an ongoing statistical survey by the U.S. Census Bureau, sent to approximately 250,000 addresses monthly (or 3 million per year). It regularly gathers information previously contained only in the long form of the decennial census. It is the largest survey other than the decennial census that the Census Bureau administers.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data for research and instruction.

SAVI
Contains a wealth of free data about the social, physical, and economic conditions of Central Indiana communities from counties to neighborhoods and census tracts, as well as information on thousands of non-profit and community-based organizations and programs.

Anthropology Statistics & Data

Open Context
Open Context reviews, edits, and publishes archaeological research data and archives data with university-backed repositories, including the California Digital Library.
tDAR
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.

Find Video

General Video

Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request.
- Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM.
- For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES
If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions

Anthropology Video

EVIA Digital Archive Project
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Kanopy Anthropology Collection
Anthropology-related streaming documentaries and feature films.