Databases (for articles on this topic)
Books
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by Helmut K. Anheier (Editor); Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor)
"With all entries followed by cross-references and further reading lists, this current resource is ideal for high school and college students looking for connecting ideas and additional sources on them. The work brings together the many facets of global studies into a solid reference tool and will help those developing and articulating an ideological perspective." -- Library Journal The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political chan≥ the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society. Key Themes: * Global civil society * Global communications, transportation, technology * Global conflict and security * Global culture, media * Global demographic change * Global economic issues * Global environmental and energy issues * Global governance and world order * Global health and nutrition * Global historical antecedents * Global justice and legal issues * Global religions, beliefs, ideologies * Global studies * Identities in global society Readership: Students and academics in the fields of politics and international relations, international business, geography and environmental studies, sociology and cultural studies, and health.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781412964296
Publication Date: 2012
Monitoring Global Poverty by World Bank Group
In 2013, the World Bank Group announced two goals that would guide its operations worldwide. First is the eradication of chronic extreme poverty bringing the number of extremely poor people, defined as those living on less than 1.25 purchasing power parity (PPP)-adjusted dollars a day, to less than 3 percent of the world's population by 2030.The second is the boosting of shared prosperity, defined as promoting the growth of per capita real income of the poorest 40 percent of the population in each country. In 2015, United Nations member nations agreed in New York to a set of post- 2015 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the first and foremost of which is the eradication of extreme poverty everywhere, in all its forms. Both the language and the spirit of the SDG objective reflect the growing acceptance of the idea that poverty is a multidimensional concept that reflects multiple deprivations in various aspects of well-being. That said, there is much less agreement on the best ways in which those deprivations should be measured, and on whether or how information on them should be aggregated. Monitoring Global Poverty: Report of the Commission on Global Poverty advises the World Bank on the measurement and monitoring of global poverty in two areas: What should be the interpretation of the definition of extreme poverty, set in 2015 in PPP-adjusted dollars a day per person? What choices should the Bank make regarding complementary monetary and nonmonetary poverty measures to be tracked and made available to policy makers? The World Bank plays an important role in shaping the global debate on combating poverty, and the indicators and data that the Bank collates and makes available shape opinion and actual policies in client countries, and, to a certain extent, in all countries. How we answer the aforementioned questions can therefore have a major influence on the global economy.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781464809613
Publication Date: 2016
Poverty in the United States by Gwendolyn Mink (Editor); Alice M. O'Connor (Editor)
This work covers the experience of poverty in United States history - its political, economic, and social roots, and the policies and social movements that have emerged in response. Over 300 A-Z entries cover the conditions, causes, public attitudes, and political responses toward poverty.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781576076088
Publication Date: 2004
Reports & Multimedia
End PovertyYouTube Channel | World Bank
The Poverty FootprintAn assessment tool that enables companies and civil society partners to understand corporate impacts on multi-dimensional poverty.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by
"With all entries followed by cross-references and further reading lists, this current resource is ideal for high school and college students looking for connecting ideas and additional sources on them. The work brings together the many facets of global studies into a solid reference tool and will help those developing and articulating an ideological perspective." -- Library Journal The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political chan≥ the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society. Key Themes: * Global civil society * Global communications, transportation, technology * Global conflict and security * Global culture, media * Global demographic change * Global economic issues * Global environmental and energy issues * Global governance and world order * Global health and nutrition * Global historical antecedents * Global justice and legal issues * Global religions, beliefs, ideologies * Global studies * Identities in global society Readership: Students and academics in the fields of politics and international relations, international business, geography and environmental studies, sociology and cultural studies, and health.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd ed. by 
Monitoring Global Poverty by
In 2013, the World Bank Group announced two goals that would guide its operations worldwide. First is the eradication of chronic extreme poverty bringing the number of extremely poor people, defined as those living on less than 1.25 purchasing power parity (PPP)-adjusted dollars a day, to less than 3 percent of the world's population by 2030.The second is the boosting of shared prosperity, defined as promoting the growth of per capita real income of the poorest 40 percent of the population in each country. In 2015, United Nations member nations agreed in New York to a set of post- 2015 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the first and foremost of which is the eradication of extreme poverty everywhere, in all its forms. Both the language and the spirit of the SDG objective reflect the growing acceptance of the idea that poverty is a multidimensional concept that reflects multiple deprivations in various aspects of well-being. That said, there is much less agreement on the best ways in which those deprivations should be measured, and on whether or how information on them should be aggregated. Monitoring Global Poverty: Report of the Commission on Global Poverty advises the World Bank on the measurement and monitoring of global poverty in two areas: What should be the interpretation of the definition of extreme poverty, set in 2015 in PPP-adjusted dollars a day per person? What choices should the Bank make regarding complementary monetary and nonmonetary poverty measures to be tracked and made available to policy makers? The World Bank plays an important role in shaping the global debate on combating poverty, and the indicators and data that the Bank collates and makes available shape opinion and actual policies in client countries, and, to a certain extent, in all countries. How we answer the aforementioned questions can therefore have a major influence on the global economy.
Poverty in the United States by
This work covers the experience of poverty in United States history - its political, economic, and social roots, and the policies and social movements that have emerged in response. Over 300 A-Z entries cover the conditions, causes, public attitudes, and political responses toward poverty.
