 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
In addition to Scholar.Google.com, try using country and regional domains to search Spanish language resources. For example, Scholar.Google.com.mx (Mexico) or Scholar.Google.es (Spain). You can also adjust your language and connect the "Find it @ IUPUI" feature through Settings > Library Links. Be sure to set up the "Find it @ IUPUI" Library Links on any off-campus computer, including a laptop, tablet, or home computer.
Use this link to find the domain for the country you'd like to search via Google:
IUCAT is Indiana University's online library catalog. Search it to find items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, government publications, journals, and other types of material.
When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.
Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Journal Title:Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.
If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.
Click on the "i" for more information about each database, what subjects it covers, and what types of content it has.
Vea también la caja abajo que se llama "Web resources, open access databases, and search engines" (abajo).
When searching open web or internet resources, be sure to use Boolean-style searching when appropriate. Google and Google Scholar have advanced search operators and field searching. Many of the open-access ( or OA) databases listed here have advanced search screens and help menus to assist you.
When you are affiliated with a higher education institution, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.
Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access (OA) movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community.
OA resources will be available to you after you leave IUPUI. For more information on open access at IUPUI see the Center for Digital Scholarship website.
As you engage in your research, explore the following OA repositories:
BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.
OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.
ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.
