Abajo hay una lista de libros que tenemos en University Library, sin embargo, hay muchos más aquí en IUPUI y en otros campus de IU. Busca más recursos en IUCAT.
Collins Spanish Dictionary Complete and Unabridged 8th Edition
This eighth edition includes the latest vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including the Internet, computing and business. Further help for the user is provided by new lexical and grammatical notes tackling classic translation problems. Ideal for advanced learners of Spanish.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
Pocket Oxford English-Spanish dictionary
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Spanish-English dictionary.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
The Gran Diccionario Oxford by
Includes the latest vocabulary from Latin American Spanish and American English; this brand new edition covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish-speaking world-from Spain to Mexico, from Peru to the River Plate. This edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary features 20,000 new entries (10,000 in each language), with the updating focused particularly on business, IT, and scientific terminology. Special entries on life and culture explain the differences between institutions, administrative systems, educational systems, and general life in the Spanish and English-speaking worlds.
The University of Chicago Spanish-English Dictionary (Diccionario Universidad de Chicago Inglés-Español) by
Completely bilingual, the dictionary focuses on two contemporary international languages, American English and a worldwide Spanish rooted in both Latin American and Iberian sources. The sixth edition has been updated with six thousand new words and meanings selected for their frequency of use, rising popularity, and situational necessity. In order to best represent the dynamic and increasingly connected cultures of three continents, this edition features enhanced coverage of the vocabulary associated with four areas of increasing global importance: medicine, business, digital technology, and sports.
Harrap Spanish Dictionary by
A reference aimed at students, translators and business people, this two-colour Spanish dictionary includes large numbers of examples of usage as well as extensive coverage of regional varieties of English and Spanish. Latin-American words and expressions are labelled according to the individual country or region where they are most typically used. The book features over 250,000 references; supplements on verb tables and irregular verbs; a high number of computing, technical, scientific, business and specialist terms; and extensive coverage of encyclopaedic terms, geographical terms, proper names and historical events.
Mopan Maya-Spanish-English Dictionary by
This is a highly valuable dictionary of the Mopan (Mayan) language. In addition to its many entries, it also provides an introductory grammatical description, as well as general dictionary features such as parts of speech, examples, cross-references, variant forms, homophones, and indexes. The book also contains special sections on orthography and pronunciation unique to this important Mayan language, as well as translations into English and Spanish. The dictionary has the merits well known from other dictionaries of indigenous languages of the Americas, preserving knowledge systems as they are encoded in vocabulary and providing valuable information for numerous fields, including Mayanists, Mesoamericanists, American Indian scholars, anthropologists, historians, linguists, students of Mayan hieroglyphic writing, and members of modern Mayan communities, among others. This is the second book in the new Smithsonian-Utah Publications in American Indian Languages (SUPAIL) series, a joint venture of the University of Utah Press and the Smithsonian Institution.
Access provided by IUPUI University Library.
Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have a background knowledge of it. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.
This is important because:
Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.
Now that you have come up with a research question, the next step is to explore the topic. This step is important because it will build your knowledge, you'll discover possible new avenues for your research, you'll pick up the jargon of the discipline(s) you are working with and start to gather keywords and other search terms.
This is important because:
Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language is, then you should consider narrowing your topic.
The library has a Reference section on Level 2 that you can browse. However, since Latino Studies-related materials are scattered throughout the library, you may prefer to start with our electronic reference databases. "Reference" is library jargon for materials like encyclopedias that have quick answers. Think of Wikipedia, for example.
Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.
Similar to the reference databases, the topic overivew databases will give you background reading on your topics. They may contain reference information as well as scholarly articles. Typically these are "starting places" for research, so I would encourage you to look in other places too--both those places I suggest in this guide and elsewhere.
Topical Overview Databases
Websites
You can also use Wikipedia to gather information. As the graphic below shows, you can use it as a starting place, but don't end up there; your professors typically prefer that you do not cite Wikipedia as a source.
