Positive Youth Development Through Sport by
Cutting through the political rhetoric about the power of sport as a tool for social change and personal improvement, this book offers insight into how and why participating in sport can be good for children and young people. As the first text to focus on the role of sport in positive youth development (PYD), it brings together high-profile contributors from diverse disciplines to examine critically the ways in which sport can be used to promote youth development. Now in a fully updated, revised and expanded new edition, Positive Youth Development through Sportcovers a wider range of disciplines including sport psychology, development psychology, physical education, sport development and sport sociology. Its three main sections focus on: the theoretical and historical contexts of PYD quantitative and qualitative methods for assessing PYD in sport the potential of PYD in sport across different ages and abilities. With expanded guidance on how to apply positive youth development in practice, this is essential reading for all students, researchers, educators, practitioners and policy makers with an interest in youth sport.
Research Handbook of Employment Relations in Sport by
'This book is a long overdue investigation of an important, but neglected, aspect of sport management. The editors have not only assembled a set of international contributors who are leaders in their respective fields, but they have also identified the employment relations issues of central concern to those studying sport management. This book should be on the shelf of every sport management researcher.'- Barrie Houlihan, Loughborough University, UK
Routledge Handbook of Theory in Sport Management by
Theory is an essential element in the development of any academic discipline and sport management is no exception. This is the first book to trace the intellectual contours of theory in sport management, and to explain, critique and celebrate the importance of sport management theory in academic research, teaching and learning, and in the development of professional practice. Written by a world-class team of international sport management scholars, each of whom has taken a leading role in developing a particular theory or framework for understanding sport management, the book covers the full span of contemporary issues, debates, themes and functional approaches, from corporate social responsibility and diversity to strategy, marketing and finance. Every chapter explores a key theoretical approach, including an overview of that theory, a discussion of the process of theory development and of how the theory has been employed in research, practice or teaching, and outlines directions for future research in that area. Each chapter includes cases and examples, as well as short illustrative commentaries from people who have used that particular theory in their work, and attempts to highlight the theory-practice links, or gaps, in that area. For a fully-rounded understanding of what sport management is and how it should be studied, taught and practiced, a thorough grounding in theory is essential. The Routledge Handbook of Theory in Sport Management is therefore important reading for all advanced students, researchers, instructors, managers and practitioners working in this exciting field.
Routledge Handbook of Youth Sport by
The RoutledgeHandbook of Youth Sportis a comprehensive survey of the latest research into young people's involvement in sport. Drawing on a wide diversity of disciplines, including sociology, psychology, policy studies, coaching, physical education and physiology, the book examines the importance of sport during a key transitional period of our lives, from the later teenage years into the early twenties, and therefore helps us develop a better understanding of the social construction of young people's lives. The book covers youth sport in all its forms, from competitive game-contests and conventional sport to recreational activities, exercise and lifestyle sport, and at all levels, from elite competition to leisure time activities and school physical education. It explores youth sport across the world, in developing and developed countries, and touches on some of the most significant themes and issues in contemporary sport studies, including physical activity and health, lifelong participation, talent identification and development, and safeguarding and abuse. No other book brings together in one place such a breadth and depth of material on youth sport or the engagement of young people in physical activity. The Routledge Handbook of Youth Sport is therefore important reading for all advanced students, researchers, practitioners and policy-makers with an interest in youth sport, youth culture, sport studies or physical education.
Sports Around the World by
This multivolume set is much more than a collection of essays on sports and sporting cultures from around the world: it also details how and why sports are played wherever they exist, and examines key charismatic athletes from around the world who have transcended their sports. * Nearly 900 entries cover most aspects of sport from around the world * Contributions from more than 200 distinguished scholars, such as Mark Dyreson, Henning Eichberg, Malcolm MacLean, S.W. Pope, and Rob Ruck * Entries on players, stadiums, arenas, famous games and matches, major scandals, and disasters * Lists of Olympic medalists for all events since 1896 as well as lists of winners of major events such as the FIFA World Cup and MLB World Series * Further reading selections provide direction for in-depth analysis of each event, sport, personality, or issue discussed
Encyclopedia of Sports in America by
Sports and leisure activities serve as a mirror, allowing us to examine the attitudes and values of everyday people. This new reference explores the development and influence of sports in American culture, as well as how sports icons, commercial enterprises, organizations, sporting events, and even fan culture have changed from decade to decade and from era to era, from the foot races of colonial times to the extreme sports of today. Each chapter focuses on key aspects of sports in American culture, including such topics as ethnicity, gender, and economics. Enhanced with numerous sidebars on the movers and shakers, key sporting trends, as well as the controversies that threatened to tear the sports world apart, this insightful reference is ideal for high school and college students who are interested in tracing the evolution of sports and American culture throughout the nation's history. Features include a timeline of important events, numerous photographs, and a bibliography of print and electronic sources for further
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies by
The 3 volume Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the science, social science and medicine of sport. The Encyclopedia is alphabetically organised and consists of: principal entries of 3000 words covering disciplinary areas, e.g. sports economics, sports history large informational entries of 1200 words on broad topics, e.g. resistance training, diagnosis of sports injuries medium informational entries of 600 words on more specific topics, e.g. cross training, projectile motion small entries of 300 words comprising entries on narrower topics and small overviews directing the reader onwards, e.g. metabolism, overview, motivation, overview, muscle tension length relationship. The aim of the editors has been to produce a comprehensive work which will be of use to a wide variety of users: students, teachers, researchers, and professionals (coaches, development officers, physiotherapists, etc.). Entries are accessibly written and both facts-fronted and critical. Entries carry cross-references and lists of further reading. There is a full index.
These journals are NOT indexed by the above library databases, but are important in the field of sport management. You will need to search these separately.
