LibGuides: Sports Journalism: 1: Background Information

Background Information

Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have a background knowledge of it. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language is, then you should consider narrowing your topic.

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guidebooks, Etc.

AP Stylebook Online This link opens in a new window
The AP Stylebook Online takes the standard-setting AP Stylebook and adds online functionality. It is searchable and it’s updated live as the AP adds or changes its style listings, ensuring that you always have the most up-to-date rules and tips. You can use it from your work computer, your home computer, anyplace you have an Internet connection. As long as you are connected to the Internet, there is no need for the book version.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

H.J. Lutcher Stark Center
A research center at The University of Texas at Austin, the Stark Center is dedicated to: 1. acquiring and providing access to archival materials in the fields of physical culture and sports; 2. supporting and conducting research in disciplines concerned with health and high performance; 3. preserving the history of physical culture and sports; and 4. educating the public about the cultural and scientific significance of physical culture and sports.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Reuters Handbook of Journalism
This handbook is not intended as a collection of “rules”. Beyond the obvious, such as the cardinal sin of plagiarism, the dishonesty of fabrication or the immorality of bribe-taking, journalism is a profession that has to be governed by ethical guiding principles rather than by rigid rules.
The Sports Archive
The Sports Archives is your one-stop access to a complete sports multimedia library of historical sports information. Whether you are browsing or researching, The Sports Archives will enable you to search sports figures, events, and categories and return your search results in the form of archives, videos, photos, audios, quotes, statistics, merchandise, including memorabilia and collectibles, all on a single page!

Sports Journalism Journals

Sometimes it can be helpful to browse journals in the field. This can help you develop topics and research questions as well as better understand how scholars write articles in the discipline.

International Journal of Sports Marketing & Sponsorship
Peer reviewed research, case studies, comment and interviews from academics and industry experts.
Journal of Sports Media
A response to the undeniable influence of sports media on contemporary culture and the growing interest in the field as an area of study and research. The journal features scholarly articles, essays, book reviews, and reports on major conferences and seminars. While the majority of the articles are academic in nature, it also includes articles from industry leaders and sports media figures on topics appealing to a nonacademic audience.
Sports Marketing
Sports Marketing is a comprehensive analysis of spectator sports, sports media, professional sports franchises, and sports marketing.
Sportscience
Open-access, peer-reviewed journal and website for sport research, hosted by the International Sports Science Association. Links to other web sites, e-mail groups, journals and publications.

Sports Journalism

Dictionary Search

Search Oxford English Dictionary

Background Information

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guidebooks, Etc.

Sports Journalism Journals