 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
When you are affiliated with a higher education institution, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.
Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access (OA) movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community.
OA resources will be available to you after you leave IUPUI. For more information on open access at IUPUI see the Center for Digital Scholarship website.
As you engage in your research, explore the following OA repositories:
BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.
The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.
OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.
ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.
This list is not a comprehensive list of all the resources available to you. This is a starting place to get ideas, but you should also be searching online and in other databases. Use the Subject Guide links to find information about doing research within certain disciplines, like History, for example.
Databases marked with the Open Access (OA) Open Lock icon 
are full of resources that are freely available to the public, outside of our library subscription databases. Most of the scholarship published in Latin America is made available through an OA database or repository, sponsored by governments and universities. See the side column for additional information about OA resources.
As I mentioned on the "Immigration-related resources" page, you will be responsible for evaluating the information that you read and use for credibility. Check out the "4. Read & Evaluate Information" page of this guide or feel free to reach out to me if you have questions.
If you find a broken link, please contact me. My contact information is below, on the left. Thanks for your help!
Not sure what discipline covers your topic? Not finding enough information? Interdisciplinary databases contain articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.
Web of Science and SCOPUS, while interdisciplinary, are weighted towards science.
For other databases, see the History Guide.
