LibGuides: Journalism: 1: Background Information &amp; Books

Background Information

Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have a background knowledge of it. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language is, then you should consider narrowing your topic.

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guidebooks, Etc.

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2009.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of the English language, including etymologies and usage quotations.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Reuters Handbook of Journalism
This handbook is not intended as a collection of “rules”. Beyond the obvious, such as the cardinal sin of plagiarism, the dishonesty of fabrication or the immorality of bribe-taking, journalism is a profession that has to be governed by ethical guiding principles rather than by rigid rules.

IUCAT - Find Books

Browse the Stacks

Want to browse journalism books in University Library? Check out these call number ranges in University Library for...

Public Relations: HD 59-HD 59.6 (3rd Floor)
Advertising: HF 5801-HF 6182 (3rd Floor)
Broadcasting: PN 1990-PN 1992.92 (4th Floor)
Journalism: PN 4699-PN 5650 (4th Floor)
Sports Journalism: PN 4784 .S6 (4th Floor)

Journalism Journals

Browsing journals in the discipline can help you identify current trends and research topics as well as provide examples of what published research in the field looks like.

If we don't have access to the full-text of an article, request a copy (for free) via InterLibrary Loan.

American Journalism
Quarterly journal sponsored by the American Journalism Historical Association. American Journalism publishes articles, research notes, book reviews, and correspondence dealing with the history of journalism. One year lag. To browse current issues see the publisher's site.
Columbia Journalism Review
Their mission is to encourage and stimulate excellence in journalism in the service of a free society. It is both a watchdog and a friend of the press in all its forms, from newspapers to magazines to radio, television, and the Web. Both online and in print, Columbia Journalism Review is in conversation with a community of people who share a commitment to high journalistic standards in the U.S. and the world.
Communication: Journalism Education Today
Provides educational materials to Journalism Education Association members on a wide variety of topics related to all aspects of scholastic media with lesson plans, teaching tips, current research and other resources.
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
The flagship journal of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC). It is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that focuses on research in journalism and mass communication.
Journalism History
Published by the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University, Athens, Ohio. Journalism History seeks articles on topics related to the full scope of mass communication history. They may discuss individuals, institutions, or events. Manuscripts that provide fresh approaches and new, significant understanding about a topic in its broader context are especially sought. Lag on current issues. To browse them, see the publisher's site.
Journalism Studies
A flagship journal in the field of journalism, which provides a forum for the study and critical discussion of journalism as both a subject of academic inquiry and an arena of professional practice. One year lag. To browse current issues, see the publisher's site.
Southeastern Review of Journalism History
An annual, peer-reviewed journal inviting research papers on any facet of U.S. and International journalism history. The Review views journalism history broadly and will consider all forms of mass communication that have had impact on any area of journalism’s past.

Sports Journalism Journals

Browsing journals in the discipline can help you identify current trends and research topics as well as provide examples of what published research in the field looks like.

If we don't have access to the full-text of an article, request a copy (for free) via InterLibrary Loan.

International Journal of Sports Marketing & Sponsorship
Peer reviewed research, case studies, comment and interviews from academics and industry experts.
Journal of Sports Media
A response to the undeniable influence of sports media on contemporary culture and the growing interest in the field as an area of study and research. The journal features scholarly articles, essays, book reviews, and reports on major conferences and seminars. While the majority of the articles are academic in nature, it also includes articles from industry leaders and sports media figures on topics appealing to a nonacademic audience.

Public Relations Journals

Browsing journals in the discipline can help you identify current trends and research topics as well as provide examples of what published research in the field looks like.

If we don't have access to the full-text of an article, request a copy (for free) via InterLibrary Loan.

Journal of Public Relations Research
Publishes research that creates, tests, or expands public relations theory.
PR News
For over 75 years, PRNEWS has remained dedicated to supporting the growth of communicators and marketers all while keeping them abreast of the latest news affecting their industries.
Public Relations Journal
Open-access, quarterly academic journal presented by the Institute for Public Relations and the Public Relations Society of America dedicated to offering the latest public relations and communication-based research to connect academia and the practice.
Strategies & Tactics
The Public Relations Society of America’s award-winning newspaper.

Advertising Journals

Browsing journals in the discipline can help you identify current trends and research topics as well as provide examples of what published research in the field looks like.

If we don't have access to the full-text of an article, request a copy (for free) via InterLibrary Loan.

Advertising & Society Quarterly
The successor to Advertising & Society Review, is a scholarly journal devoted entirely to advertising and its relationship to society, culture, history, and the economy. Published quarterly online, ASQ features articles, essays, interviews, roundtable discussions, and other scholarship relevant to a broad, interdisciplinary audience interested in advertising.
Advertising Age (AdAge)
Ad Age is the leading global source of news, intelligence and conversation for marketing and media communities. Articles cover national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports.
International Journal of Advertising
The International Journal of Advertising (IJA) publishes original contributions on all aspects of marketing communications from the academic, practitioner and public policy perspectives. It includes: advertising and media, direct marketing, sales promotions, sponsorship, public relations and integrated marketing communications (IMC). One year lag. To browse current issues, see the publisher's site.
Journal of Advertising
The premier journal devoted to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to practice.
Journal of Advertising Research
The mission of JAR is to act as the research and development vehicle for professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications.
Journal of Current Issues and Research in Advertising
Aims at advancing state-of-the-art in advertising theory, practice, and current developments. Also features complete reports of original theoretical research. To browse current issues, see the publisher's site.
Journal of Interactive Advertising
International, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing knowledge and understanding in the field of interactive advertising, marketing, and communication in our ever-expanding networked world. We don't have access to this journal, request articles via InterLibrary Loan.

IUCAT Quick Search:
Title:
Author:
Subject:
Match:
Library:	IU Indy University Library
	Herron Art Library
Online Only:

Journalism

Background Information

Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Guidebooks, Etc.

IUCAT - Find Books

IUCAT Quick Search:

Browse the Stacks

Journalism Journals

Sports Journalism Journals

Public Relations Journals

Advertising Journals