A Reference Grammar of French by
A Reference Grammar of French is a lively, wide-ranging and original handbook on the structure of the French language. It includes new information on register, pronunciation, gender, number, foreign words (Latin, Arabic, English, Spanish, Italian), adjectives and past participles used as nouns, texting, word order, frequency of occurrence of words, and usage with all geographical names. Examples come not only from France, but also from Quebec, Belgium and Switzerland. Readers will appreciate the initial passages illustrating the grammatical features of a given chapter. Also included is a user-friendly introduction to the French language, from its Latin origins to modern times. A full glossary explains any terms that might confuse the less experienced reader, and the index leads the student through the detailed labyrinth of grammatical features. This handbook will be an invaluable resource for students and teachers who want to perfect their knowledge of all aspects of French grammar.
Unabridged French Dictionary
The brand-new Larousse Unabridged Dictionary is now the cornerstone of the Larousse bilingual French line. It is an an in-depth reference specially designed to help translators, students, and teachers translate into or from either language clearly and easily. Containing more than 850,000 words, phrases and translations, it is the largest and most compehensive title in the French bilingual line. Key features include: • Abbreviations, acronyms, and proper nouns presented as headwords • Menus at the top of long entries • Idiomatic expression highlighted within entries • Boxed notes on key problem areas in French grammar • More than 400 encyclopedic boxed notes on cultural themes • Cultural supplement on French langauge and art history • Edited by an international team of specialists
Oxford dictionaries
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
This resource is available only to current faculty, staff and students of Columbia University.
Subject headings:
Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish.
Arabic language--Dictionaries.
Chinese language--Dictionaries.
English language--Dictionaries.
French language--Dictionaries.
German language--Dictionaries.
Italian language--Dictionaries.
Portuguese language--Dictionaries.
Russian language--Dictionaries.
Spanish language--Dictionaries.
Arabic language--Translating.
Chinese language--Translating.
English language--Translating.
French language--Translating.
German language--Translating.
Italian language--Translating.
Portuguese language--Translating.
Russian language--Translating.
Spanish language--Translating.
The links on this page are a mixture of free online (open web) resources and library subscription resources such as databases and ebooks. Please also see the Articles & Citation Databases list on page 3. Find Materials.
Online (open web) sources:
Library subscription databases:
Web links:
Streaming Video:
Traduire? Avec plaisir! : cours de traduction avancé : cahier de cours by 
Thinking French Translation: A Course Translation Method: French to English by
The new edition of this popular course in translation from French into English offers a challenging practical approach to the acquisition of translation skills, with clear explanations of the theoretical issues involved. A variety of translation issues are considered including: *cultural differences *register and dialect *genre *revision and editing. The course now covers texts from a wide range of sources, including: *journalism and literature *commercial, legal and technical texts *songs and recorded interviews. This is essential reading for advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students of French on translation courses. The book will also appeal to wide range of language students and tutors.
The Beginning Translator's Workbook by
This workbook combines methodology and practice for use in a course for beginning translators with a proficiency in French ranging from intermediate to advanced level.
Media French: a Guide to Contemporary French Idiom: with English Translations by
This is a handbook of the most useful terms, and some of the more common idioms, which the reader of contemporary French will regularly encounter.
Dictionary of Untranslatables [eBook] by
Characters in some languages, particularly Hebrew and Arabic, may not display properly due to device limitations. Transliterations of terms appear before the representations in foreign characters. This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities. Spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts. The dictionary also includes essays on the special characteristics of particular languages--English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. Originally published in French, this one-of-a-kind reference work is now available in English for the first time, with new contributions from Judith Butler, Daniel Heller-Roazen, Ben Kafka, Kevin McLaughlin, Kenneth Reinhard, Stella Sandford, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Jane Tylus, Anthony Vidler, Susan Wolfson, Robert J. C. Young, and many more.The result is an invaluable reference for students, scholars, and general readers interested in the multilingual lives of some of our most influential words and ideas. Covers close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms that defy easy translation between languages and cultures Includes terms from more than a dozen languages Entries written by more than 150 distinguished thinkers Available in English for the first time, with new contributions by Judith Butler, Daniel Heller-Roazen, Ben Kafka, Kevin McLaughlin, Kenneth Reinhard, Stella Sandford, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Jane Tylus, Anthony Vidler, Susan Wolfson, Robert J. C. Young, and many more Contains extensive cross-references and bibliographies An invaluable resource for students and scholars across the humanities
Perspectives on Translation Quality [eBook] by
This book is the result of the collaboration between academics and industry professionals and therefore sheds new light on translation quality in the real world: it addresses human translation and machine translation, translations done by students and by professional translators, and quality assurance (QA) in the translation workflow. It includes best practices relevant both to practitioners and to researchers."
