U.S. Federal Government

This is a great resource for information on current legislation, especially bills in the news. Each bill contains an overview, the full text, and information on actions and votes.

Use this database for complex searches, such as looking for legislation on particular topics or across multiple Congresses. The Bill Tracking feature provides a legislative chronology with links to all related documents, including amendments, committee reports, committee prints, and hearings. Links to the Congressional Record are also provided.

Provides full-text access to different versions of bills with links to all related documents. Also provides access to CBO cost estimates and CRS reports.

Congressional Record bound volume set from its inception in 1873 as well as the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). Also the Congressional Record Dailies from 1980-present

Published daily when Congress is in session. Each issue contains four sections: Daily Digest, House Section, Senate Section, and Extension of Remarks. The Daily Digest summarizes the day's floor and committee activities and serves as the table of contents.

Full-text access to the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873).

Begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and details Congressional business to the present day. Includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.

Thirty-eight volumes that contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. Volumes are arranged into ten topical classes or series: foreign relations, indian affairs, finances, commerce and navigation, military affairs, naval affairs, post office department, public lands, claims, and miscellaneous.

Full-text access to both published and unpublished hearings. Hearings contain the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. They also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.

Committee prints from 1830 to present and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports from 1916 to present.

Reports ("blue books") on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of Federal programs conducted by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications.