Selecting Databases
Below are suggested databases grouped by subject area as well as other subject guides. Don't limit yourself to one database or you will miss articles in other journals. Explore and experiment, mix and match! Additional subject guides can be found at the following link:
INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES
These databases are good starting places for all topics and subject areas:
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database including scholarly and popular articles, market reports, and newspapers.
BUSINESS DATABASES
Choose one of these databases if your topic relates to:
hiring employees
marketing a product or service
staff training
customer relations
reducing theft
employee retention
improving communication among staff
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business database of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry, market, and country profiles. Also contains news (from global to local) of advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, industry, finance, taxation, and management topics.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
MEDICAL DATABASES
Chose one of these databases if your topic relates to health or medical topics:
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles covering the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines including strong coverage of nursing and allied health. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
EDUCATION DATABASES
If your topic relates to educational topics like these, choose one of these databases:
student retention
student involvement or engagement
student government or organizations
membership campaigns
student participation
student life
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of information especially for professional educators. Information from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
SOCIAL AND POLITICAL DATABASES
If your topic is related to social or political issues, choose one of these databases:
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers and newswires. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles, grey literature, and government reports in public affairs, public and social policy, international relations, and world politics; 1972-present.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ATHLETICS DATABASES
If your topic relates to student athletics, try these databases below and also see education-related databases above.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, reference materials, and theses and dissertations in sport, fitness and related disciplines.
PHILANTHROPY DATABASES
If your topic relates to one of the following topics, choose a database below:
volunteers
fund raising
nonprofit organizations
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General interest, business, health, and historical U.S. documents, including Consumer Reports, Business Week, NY Times, and The Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
