Electrical & Computer Engineering and Technology

1. QUICK Library Research HELP. University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:

• By phone : 317-274-0469
• By chat Monday - Friday 9 - 4; access at left side of page: Research Help.  (I usually staff this from 9  to 11am on Fridays)
• By e-mail: renewal@iu.edu
• By text: (66746)
• In-person at the 2nd level lobby Information/Reference desk

Many University Library staff don’t have access to Purdue U. resources but some may be able to help with basic tasks such as helping you navigate subject guide(s), choose keywords for a search, and use APA citation style. Some staff may be able to offer limited resource support if you load a Purdue resource on a mobile device to share with them at the library's second level lobby Information Desk. 

2. For ADDITIONAL HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Brightspace if I'm listed for your course, or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rhalver@purdue.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For best results, please include your course and section number and background details, especially

• details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,

• whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,

• search resources and strategies that you've already tried.

To request a RESERVATION with Randall Halverson, please use the library's "Make an Appointment" page, selecting my name from the list of subject librarians. Appointments can be made up to 12 hours before a time option shown for me on the calendar. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

3. Another option, through the PURDUE U. LIBRARIES, is to use a link such as Ask  a Librarian, the first link shown for the Purdue Libraries site when you select upper Tab Help. 

Early-on, explore topics and directions for research via ebooks;

Find concise, practical industry-specific trade journal articles using ProQuest Research Library. Find readable, especially credible professional society "magazine" articles giving overviews of computing topics and IT applied to many STEM topics by searching IEEE and limiting to magazine articles. Other resources such as news and business sources and ebook collections can provide context or additional detail on a topic. Browse and search individual ebook platforms in full-text.

Notable books having ebook access options via the Purdue Libraries include Matlab by author Stormy Attaway. 

Search additional, specialized sources to find journal articles and conference papers

Purdue University Indy students and staff can access Purdue University resources at any time from anywhere and set Google Scholar to show links to Purdue full-text by following instructions at page. 

University Library resources are "IP-filtered". Purdue University Indy students and staff can access many University Library electronic resources (campus IU databases and direct access to full-text content via FindIt) while on campus using the campus wireless network. 

Also see a collection of IT-related standards included with IEEE Explore and linked with IEEE's browse options, and a set of standards included with SAE Mobility. Also, please note that ASTM JOURNALS and EBOOKS can be browsed using pull-down menus at the ASME resource.

Orientation to standards; Purdue Libraries TOOLs and COLLECTIONS of STANDARDS

Learn more about Standards and Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs);  browse options for FREE ACCESS to STANDARDS

"OPEN" Patent Resource Sites:

Search hint: When available, using classification category browsing* may provide more comprehensive results than keyword searching.

Global Patent Index (GPI) - European Patent Office (EPO) "... More than 500 000 patent documents are added every month." Site claims "We provide access to the largest single source of technical information in the world: our databases containing millions of patent documents."

Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "

The Lens "... over 268+ million scholarly works, 153+ million global patent records... drawn from diverse data sources." Started in 1998 to "render the global patent system more transparent", it is increasingly recommended by users of patent resources. Provides discovery and analytics tools and "cited by" information, and promises privacy. Short videos demonstrateToolset features such as "Explore which articles influence what patents and who is building products".

PATENTSCOPE, from World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Scroll down to the FAQs, including "Where can I find the drawings accompanying a patent application?"

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) - The government's free, searchable database of United States patents, patent applications, and trademarks. It provides coverage of patent materials from 1790 to the present.

"HOW TO" resources:

Sample open access resources (OER) listed below are linked at the Open Textbook Library or at the OER Commons.

Also see:

• Open Textbook Library: Search or browse by subject  Conditions of Use (Creative Commons license) are noted by title.
• OER Commons  The Advanced Search page provides Additional Search Criteria, including limiting by Creative Commons license use permission at lower right (Unrestricted Use, Conditional Remix and Share... etc.).
• Open Educational Resources IUB guide pages: Finding, Evaluating, Creating
• Also see free books on electronic circuits for example, at the FreeBookCentre and the Internet Archive OpenLibrary. 
• Access to view additional ebooks, limited in content viewable at a given time, may be available through Internet Archive. For more options, select Texts and search using terms such as circuits. To "check out" and view limited full-text at Internet Archive, register with a username and personal password. 

SAMPLE OER SEARCHES

SAMPLE OER RESOURCES

Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IU login).

Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction! 

End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code