Phase 1 (Years 1 & 2) Library Resources
Definitions - Medical Dictionaries
-
Medical Dictionary
by
ISBN: 9780781733908Publication Date: 2023Over 107,000 major medical and health science terms and definitions reviewed for accuracy and clarity. Includes approximately 1500 images and illustrations. -
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
by
Call Number: W13 T113 2021 - Circulation DeskISBN: 9781719642859Publication Date: 2021Full-color illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders focusing on their distinguishing features.
Disease Information
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowOnline resource for medical education and practice that includes textbooks, cases, videos, drug references, and other learning tools.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowAn online search tool featuring Elsevier books, journals, videos, and images. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
-
DynaMedex This link opens in a new windowDynaMedex combines the clinical evidence and guidance from accredited experts in DynaMed with drug information from Micromedex. It is designed to facilitate clinical decision-making at the point of care.
-
LWW Health Library Medical Education Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks including Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy, and West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials.
-
Merck Manual This link opens in a new windowOne of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. Merck Manual provides current medical information to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals, students, and consumers.
-
OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man This link opens in a new windowContinuously updated catalog of human genes and genetic disorders and traits, with particular focus on the molecular relationship between genetic variation and phenotypic expression.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IU Indy links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.
Drug Information (Including Drug Interactions)
-
Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowFormerly Lexicomp. Lexidrug provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, and other tools.
-
Micromedex This link opens in a new windowDrug information for health care professionals. Databases included are DRUGDEX, NeoFax, and Pediatrics.
-
MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other organizations.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowAn online search tool featuring Elsevier books, journals, videos, and images. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Differential Diagnosis
Signs and Symptoms
-
Visual DX This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions.
-
Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowMedical software app which has 1000+ differential diagnoses to help make informed decisions.
Laboratory Tests and Normal Values
-
Guide to Diagnostic Tests
by
ISBN: 9781259640896Publication Date: 2017Guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests, including the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests. Aids in the selection and interpretation of laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. -
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (20th ed)
by
ISBN: 9780911910421Publication Date: 2018Medical reference that provides information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, written by a team of renowned medical experts. Intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. -
Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests: Pathways to Arriving at a Clinical Diagnosis (11th ed)
by
ISBN: 9781975105587Publication Date: 2021A practical guide to the use of laboratory tests, which aids physicians in using tests more effectively and efficiently by offering test outcomes, possible meanings, differential diagnosis, and summaries of tests available.
Clinical Calculators
Images
-
MedPixMedPix is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics. Permission to use images for MedEdPORTAL must be requested by the creator.
-
Open-i: Open Access Biomedical Image Search EngineCollection of images from the open source literature. Use the "License Type" filter along the top menu bar to include only attribution or attribution/non-commercial images.
Videos
-
Anatomy /Dissectionvideos by the University of Michigan
-
Anatomy /Dissectionvideos by the University of Wisconsin
Patient Information
-
MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other organizations.
-
Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowPatient education topics for disease and procedure, adult medications, and pediatric medications. Information also provided in Spanish
USMLE Study Resources
-
Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2
by
ISBN: 9781496349897Publication Date: 2018Updated to reflect the current USMLE Step 2 test blueprint, and organized to parallel the clerkships that all 3rd and 4th year medical students are required to take.
