Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials by
Using a proven pedagogical organization, this updated Fifth Edition of Gladwin and Bagby's market-leading title focuses on providing students with a dental materials background that emphasizes the clinical aspects of dental materials, while also introducing concepts of materials science.The book's three-part structure addresses types of dental materials in the 22 chapters of Part I, includes laboratory and clinical applications (essentially a built-in lab manual) in Part II, and presents 11 case studies in Part III that serve as an overall review and help students strengthen their critical thinking skills when providing patient care.Up-to-date content that reflects the latest advances in dental materials, clinical photos, review questions, and online videos all combine to help students develop the understanding of dental materials they need for successful dental hygiene practice.
Craig's Restorative Dental Materials by
Master the use of dental materials with this all-in-one guide to restorative materials and procedures! Craig's Restorative Dental Materials, 14th Edition covers everything you need to know to understand the science of selecting dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. It begins with fundamentals and moves on to advanced skills in the manipulation of dental materials, providing insight on the latest advances and research along the way. From an expert author team led by Ronald Sakaguchi, this comprehensive resource is considered to be the standard in the field of dental restorations. Clear, design-focused approach provides an essential understanding of the fast-changing field of restorative dental materials. Comprehensive coverage ranges from fundamental concepts to advanced skills, detailing everything you need to know to select dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. More than 300 full-color illustrations show clinical detail with clarity and realism. Logical organization arranges chapters by major clinical procedures. Practical examples show the fundamental properties and characteristics of materials and demonstrate how basic principles relate to clinical applications. New co-editor Jack L. Ferracane is recognized worldwide as an authority in dental materials science and restorative dentistry. NEW! Cutting-edge content describes the newest materials and the latest advances and research in dental biomaterials science. NEW! More clinical photos help you apply concepts to clinical practice.
Dental Materials by
Get an in-depth understanding of the dental materials and tasks that dental professionals encounter every day with Dental Materials: Foundations and Applications, 11th Edition. Trusted for nearly 40 years, Powers and Wataha's text walks readers through the nature, categories, and uses of clinical and laboratory dental materials in use today. Increased coverage of foundational basics and clinical applications and an expanded art program help make complex content easier to grasp. If you're looking to effectively stay on top of the rapidly developing field of dental materials, look no further than this proven text. Comprehensive and cutting-edge content describes the latest materials commonly used in dental practice, including those in esthetics, ceramics, dental implants, and impressions. Approximately 500 illustrations and photographs make it easier to understand properties and differences in both materials and specific types of products. Review questions provide an excellent study tool with 20 to 30 self-test questions in each chapter. Quick Review boxes summarize the material in each chapter. Note boxes highlight key points and important terminology throughout the text. Key terms are bolded at their initial mention in the text and defined in the glossary. Expert authors are well recognized in the fields of dental materials, oral biomaterials, and restorative dentistry. A logical and consistent format sets up a solid foundation before progressing into discussions of specific materials, moving from the more common and simple applications such as composites to more specialized areas such as polymers and dental implants. Learning objectives in each chapter focus readers' attention on essential information. Supplemental readings in each chapter cite texts and journal articles for further research and study. Conversion Factors on the inside back cover provides a list of common metric conversions. NEW! Foundations and Applications subtitle emphasizes material basics and clinical applications to mirror the educational emphasis. NEW! More clinical photos and conceptual illustrations help bring often-complex material into context and facilitate comprehension.
Dental Materials and Their Selection by
Fundamental principles of material science are closely integrated with everyday dental practice in the newly revised edition of this classic textbook. Written in a practical, straightforward manner with the student practitioner in mind, this book presents the essential knowledge of material structure and properties. A glossary of terms and discussion questions are included with each chapter to help students focus on the concepts they will need as practicing dentists. Promoting problem-based learning through the use of real-life clinical scenarios, the authors show how to apply the framework of material science to restorative treatment plans. This didactic combination will enable students, technicians, and clinicians not only to select appropriate materials for various clinical situations, but to handle them correctly for optimum clinical performance.
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by
Keep current with the evolving technology of dental materials! Phillips' Science of Dental Materials, 13th Edition provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on the materials used in cosmetic and restorative procedures in dentistry. It introduces the physical and chemical properties that are related to selection and use of dental biomaterials, including their composition, mechanical properties, manipulative variables, and the performance of dental restorations and prostheses. This edition adds three new chapters and hundreds of new full-color photographs. Written by dental scientists Chiayi Shen and H. Ralph Rawls along with prosthodontist Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, this leading text/reference helps dentists select the right materials for oral procedures and helps dental labs ensure high-quality restorations. 500 full-color photos and illustrations show concepts, dental instruments, and restorations. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, covering terminology related to dental biomaterials and science. Critical thinking questions stimulate thinking and emphasize important concepts and principles. Logical, five-part organization of chapters makes the content easier to read and understand, with units on General Classes and Properties of Dental Materials, Direct Restorative Materials, Indirect Restorative Materials, Fabrication of Prostheses, and Assessing Dental Restorations. Balance between materials science and manipulation bridges the gap of knowledge between dentists and lab technicians. Major emphasis on biocompatibility serves as a useful guide to the principles and clinical implications of restorative materials safety. Diverse and respected pool of contributors lends credibility and experience to each dental science topic. NEW! Three new chapters are added: Digital Technology in Dentistry, In Vitro Research of Dental Materials, and Clinical Research of Restorations.
The Science and Art of Porcelain Laminate Veneers by
This text details the expanding field of porcelain laminate veneers in aesthetic dentistry. It guides the aesthetic dentist in understanding the needs of the patient and formulating a treatment plan that includes not only aesthetic considerations, such as colour and smile design, but also occlusal, periodontal and functional requirements. In addition, it discusses the use of porcelain laminate veneers in diastema closure, the treatment of tetracycline discolouration and in conjunction wih orthodontic therapy.
IUPUI